We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Indian”
Review of Sidmouth Tandoori

Sidmouth Tandoori
Ranked #10 of 80 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$19
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the town centre of Sidmouth, opposite the Sidmouth Conservative Club and cinema.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had been recommended this lndian restaurant by several local people. The starters were fresh and piping hot. The three of us ordered different mains with two stuffed Nan breads and two pillaw rice. All three mains were excellent and the generous portions meant we had to leave some. Never had such delicious nan bread. Don't be put off by the exterior. Restaurant very small though. We will definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marylyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    66
    9
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Great value Restaurant"”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This small family run Bangladeshi Restaurant was a great find. This is a no frills establishment in this age of modern fusion Indian Restaurants it was pleasant to find a straight forward "Indian" offering all the standard fare and doing it well. The portions are as large as you will find, we had to resort to a doggy bag and our dog did indeed appreciate the Chicken Tikka. The Naan bread can be highly recommended it was just out of the Tandoor and was delicious. We also tad a take away meal, two starters and one main meal was more than enough for two to share. They do not have a alcohol licence so you take you own drinks, you can even take in a pint from the pub next door as long as you take your glass back. Service was both swift and friendly so all in all Sidmouth Tandoori can be highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food at very reasonable prices”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We regularly eat Indian food and this was definitely one of the best. We didn’t realise it operated a 'bring your own alcohol' but there is a Tesco Express right next door. You can also purchase soft drinks in the restaurant. The restaurant is quite small but they do take bookings. I would definitely visit again and would recommend it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“How can food be this good?”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just incredible food. Take your own alcohol and have an incredible value meal which will knock your socks off.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gazania186266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing curry”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Came here on the off chance and ate a curry in. I had a chicken Korma and asked for a bit of spice in it! Was amazing! Best I've had! Keep it up guys!

Helpful?
Thank Marcus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sidmouth Tandoori also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Sidmouth Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing