We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquil haven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hemphaye Cottage

Hemphaye Cottage charming 3 story 17th century character cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hemphaye Cottage charming 3 story 17th century character cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Hemphaye Cottage charming 3 story 17th century character cottage
Dining Room in a Lantern Conservatory
Kitchen
Lots of areas in the garden to relax and unwind
Shared garden with owners
Shared gardens with owners
Patio Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Olympicea...
Enfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tranquil haven”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed in Hemphaye with another couple and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The house has everything you could require in it, the gardens are fantastic and there are an abundance of little places to sit and relax. The house is well situated and within easy walking of Sidmouth and parking was not a problem even with 2 cars between us.
The owners were approachable and attentive and I would most definitely recommend anyone stying here

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Thanks for your very welcome review, it's very rewarding to note that we were able to satisfy your expectations with the accommodation and gardens. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future.
Selwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable property,excellent location and beautiful gardens.”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a friendly and helpful welcome on arrival. It was lovely to find milk, bread and refreshments ready for us.
The owners went out of their way to help us, and it was great to have parking included. The location is very close to beach, garden and shops making it ideal for a family holiday.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thanks for your very welcome review, always appreciated. Hope to see you back
Selwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jdj20
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We just keep coming back to Littlecourt Cottages”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We enjoyed our stay in Hemphaye. Cottage is only 4 minutes walk from Town, Beach, Gardens Etc. 2 minutes walk to Bus Stop for Exeter, Lyme Regis or Honiton. Everything that you will need is provided for in the cottage which is spotlessly clean on arrival. Plenty of seating areas in the lovely garden to sit in if required. Nice conservatory dining area in the cottage. We have stayed many times in Littlecourt Cottages over the years and they are so good we just keep coming back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Thanks so much for another great review. We appreciate your return visits and we now count you as friends as well as loyal guests. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Many thanks Selwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce B
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Littlecourt situated 5 minutes from the town the seafront, and the theatre. Bus stop right outside . The gardens are truly beautiful. The town has so many little shops that you do not see anywhere else, there are lots of lovely places to eat. There are beautiful views all around. There is a brilliant hairdressers on site. There is always a very warm welcome from Selwyn and Geoffrey.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2017
Thank you Joyce for your most welcome review, much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Selwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
v1zetoR
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in quiet setting”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely cottage in very peaceful setting, yet within walking distance of the town and sea, great food and lovely walks. Can recommend if you want go for walks and enjoy the views or for a quiet and relaxing stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thanks for your review, much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
willdp201...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have stayed many times at Littlecourt cottages because they are so good, and so conveniently placed. This year we decided to try out Hemphaye which was completely up to standard with a high standard of decoration and equipment - all you want for a really happy time in Sidmouth. I can't think of anything to criticise - which I guess is why we have come back many times.

We always feel right at home. The proprietors, Selwyn and Geoffrey, are unobtrusively on hand should we need anything. The gardens around the cottages are fantastic, and each cottage has its own privacy from the others because of the clever planting and arrangements.

We first came with our elderly mother because there is almost flat access from the cottages to the seafront, which is close by, and because everything we needed was provided. We now come back because we have enjoyed staying there so much over the years.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2017
Thanks Will for your excellent review. It's very rewarding to know we are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
Cardiff, Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and quiet beside the sea.”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Hemphaye Cottage is a great place in which to enjoy a relaxing time beside the sea. The cottage is extremely well furnished and immaculately presented. The owners are warm and friendly and do all they can to help the stay be a success. The cottage is about 5 minutes walk from the seafront and the same from the main street. Sidmouth is a friendly place to visit with nice coffee shops and lots of independent shops to browse in. The highlight for us is our family golf competition on the pitch and put course. We have enjoyed our stay this year and have already booked again for next year. Our thanks must go to Selwyn and Geoffrey and their team. Well done!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
Thank you Michael for your most welcome review, much appreciated. It's always a pleasure welcoming you and your family over the many years you've stayed with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing