We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Gelato!”
Review of Taste of Sidmouth

Taste of Sidmouth
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Taste of Sidmouth is a Coffee Shop and Ice Cream Parlour in Market Place, Sidmouth. The luxury Ice Cream is made on the premises, has won awards from Taste of the West including Best Ice Cream 2010 for our Mango Yoghurt Ice Cream and has won national awards from the Ice Cream Alliance. The portion sizes are very generous and feedback from our customers is very positive! We also supply coffees, teas, other hot and cold drinks, cakes, scones, tea cakes, light lunches and strive to give each customer a friendly and efficient service. We are open Mon-Sat 10am-5pm and Sun 10.30am-5pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Taste of Sidmouth is a Coffee Shop and Ice Cream Parlour in Market Place, Sidmouth. The luxury Ice Cream is made on the premises, has won awards from Taste of the West including Best Ice Cream 2010 for our Mango Yoghurt Ice Cream and has won national awards from the Ice Cream Alliance. The portion sizes are very generous and feedback from our customers is very positive! We also supply coffees, teas, other hot and cold drinks, cakes, scones, tea cakes, light lunches and strive to give each customer a friendly and efficient service. We are open Mon-Sat 10am-5pm and Sun 10.30am-5pm.
East Devon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Gelato!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We popped in here for an ice cream and it was great. Super sized portions and was very tasty! We went for the Ferrero R and Coffee flavours and were very pleased. Its great to have a choice of cone too like a choc dipped which I went for. We look forward to trying another flavour soon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank admeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at Taste of Sidmouth, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your review - there are plenty of flavours to come back for! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    74
    12
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good coffee at reasonable price as well.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Yum, yum, ice cream. Staff very helpful and full of fun. We are regular coffee & ice-cream fans. In fact easily the best ice-cream in Sidmouth & most of the others are pretty good as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at Taste of Sidmouth, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your review, our regulars are pretty friendly and full of fun too! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Monster Ice Creams”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stopped off here for a sit down while visiting Sidmouth for the day and found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly, my partner and I had a pot of tea and an Americano while our young daughters had an ice cream each (caramel) which were not only very reasonably priced but were also enormous.
A great little business, well worth a visit.
I even bought myself a chocolate ice cream as we left.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at Taste of Sidmouth, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your review. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent ice cream and decent coffee”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were on a holiday and called in for some refreshment and having seen reviews on Trip Advisor when we were looking where best to go in Sidmouth for ice cream, which is made on the premises rather than pre-bought. There are a variety of cones to choose from and an array of lovely looking tubs of diary goodness to choose from. I opted for the coffee, my wife the black cherry and the kids having mint choc chip, Ferrero Rocher and another black cherry.

The staff do their utmost to pile on as much as they can onto a cone, which is refreshing to see as many places skimp on portions and for £2.10, it's excellent value to boot.

I enjoyed the coffee gelato I had, although it needed more flavour and was too subtle for me. I grabbed a lick of the black cherry which was very nice, but the Ferrero Rocher was the cream of the crop (pardon the pun).

In fact, we enjoyed the ice cream that much, we opted for an afternoon coffee here instead of the Costa 100m up the road, which was also very nice and served with a complimentary biscotti, which is a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrickVader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at Taste of Sidmouth, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your review. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ice cream in Devon”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

There is pretty much always a queue but that's ok as you need all the time to decide what flavour to try next! It's worth the wait as it's the best ice cream in sidmouth! A single tub is a massive portion, on,y get a double if you are starving and I'd suggest a wheelbarrow if you order a triple scoop, to help you carry it out to the beach to enjoy. I recommend this place to everyone, delicious and great value for money.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura B, Owner at Taste of Sidmouth, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Thank you for your review. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of Sidmouth also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Sidmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing