We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish and chips for miles”

The White Horse Cafe
Ranked #36 of 79 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips for miles”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Hi just like to tell you a tip about where to go for fish and chips . We stumbled upon this early in our week here and have come back every day. Great portions, great service and the owner is very welcoming and rules the workers to ensure you receive your food quickly. We will be coming back next year just for the fish and chips

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    58
    17
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant and Takeaway!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Absolutely excellent! We were so delighted to have found a nice place to eat during our Sidmouth stay. The lady who ran the cash register was brilliant, so nice, so helpful and accomodating! The cooks were the best - the food is fresh, delicious, like an oasis in the dessert. We only went to another place once during our week at Sidmouth - that is how impressed we were with the White Horse Cafe. And - when we did go to another restaurant - we were so sorry we hadn't gone to the White Horse Cafe instead! If you love the best fish and chips or you love big juicy cheeseburgers made from THE BEST mince, or jacket potatoes - or chicken burgers - and if you appreciate quality - the White Horse Cafe is for you! The best place in Sidmouth!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebekkah59399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best chips in the UK”
Reviewed 21 July 2012

An excellent restaurant with superb service - the takeaway team are particularly excellent, very speedy. Chips are hand cut, never frozen, which is rare and the fish is always delicious. Worth going in even if you are just after a coffee.
I was very impressed with my meal here, not something I often say about fish and chip places, and very good value. I will definitely be back this summer

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MegFair1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titchfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly fish and chip cafe, great location for folk week”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Visited over folk week last year, it is very near the sea front and close to some of the main acts. I have been back since and it was just as good, a very friendly place with a fun atmosphere when busy, it seems to be popular with locals.

Excellent fresh fish cooked to order with light batter, no greasy rubbish, and the chips aren't frozen. Good range of other stuff as well, burgers, lasagne, and a proper coffee machine. Very reasonable prices but get there early over folk week evenings as the queues are out the door. Good for lunch or a hangover cure fry-up.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wilber_Raffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really good family run restaurant in Sidmouth”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Situated on Old Fore Street in the centre of Sidmouth, the White Horse Cafe is a family run business providing a range of meals including fish and chips, grills and burgers, salads, home-made house specials (check out the home made mushy peas), breakfasts, jacket potatoes and selection of children’s meals. Sweet and savoury snacks can also be enjoyed. There is a range of hot and cold drinks available or as they have a license to serve bottled beers, ciders and wines you can enjoy an alcoholic beverage with your meal.
They also provide a take away service at the front of the premises which is normally really busy. Just place your order and wait for your number to be called, all food is cooked to order and always comes piping hot and nicely presented. The Cafe is always well presented and kept very clean, it’s our favourite place to eat in Sidmouth.
A visit to Sidmouth wouldn’t be complete without a visit to The White Horse Cafe

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NigePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Cafe also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to The White Horse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing