We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly and welcoming”
Review of The Old Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Farmhouse
Ranked #15 of 32 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We have had a really friendly and relaxing stay. Our hosts were so welcoming. From the outset we were met with smiles and shown to our room, which was really comfortable. The food was hot and perfectly cooked - home from home. We certainly won't have any difficulty deciding where we are going to stay next time we are in Sidmouth.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoodworthClatford23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

the hosts susan&robin(aka mushrooms) were very welcomeing,the house was spotless and the breakfast was very good.when we return to sidmouth we will look to book here before anywhere else the location is nice and quiet but is also very close to everything sidmouth offers

Room Tip: all very good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charles794393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We have just returned to Jersey from a long weekend in the lovely county of Devon where we stayed with the fabulous Susan & Robin Rignall at The Old Farmhouse in Sidmouth. We absolutely loved the location but our visit was definitely enhanced by the wonderful welcome, fabulous accommodation and excellent food which we enjoyed considerably.

Friends had told us that Sidmouth tended to only attract elderly visitors and whilst that was partly true, we found some fantastic shops and restaurants and the surrounding villages were chocolate-box beautiful.

We will certainly be returning and would recommend The Old Farmhouse to anyone wishing to visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MadisonJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betzdorf, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stopped there during our last year's England round trip and can really recommend this house. We got the address from the tourist board in Sidmouth and got a room in the former mill house. The room is wonderful restored and has excellent facilities. Breakfast is very good, you can have - we preferred it - English breakfast which was great or continental stuff as well. You really feel welcome so we added a second night and did not regret.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frequentfryer
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

We booked this accommodation at the last minute, through Sidmouth tourist board. It seemingly had the last available room for the two nights we wanted. I explained that I am disabled, and that I have to use 2 crutches. I also explained that we ate vegetarian and asked if they did a vegetarian breakfast. I was told they didn't do vegetarian sausages because nobody liked them! when we arrived (easy to find location) we parked our car in the off road parking space and went into the hotel. We were met by a very enthusiastic proprietor. She showed us to room 2. The stairs were very difficult to manage on crutches, thanks to the banister changing sides, the gap at the top, and the very low ceiling. The room was pretty (as Was the thatched roof) with floral wallpaper And oak beams but not really big enough for my tall husband. The wardrobe Was a rail behind a curtain, the toilet cubicle Was so small you had to open the door before you stood up, And the flush action left a lot to be desired. In the bedroom, the beams were very dusty. Good shower, TV, free wifi, tea And coffee making facilities. Breakfast Was OK, although I didn't feel we were listened to with regard to our order, And there Was no yoghurt available on the Saturday morning. The proprietor And her husband were very friendly, And knowledgeable about the area. They were very helpful when we were looking for somewhere to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frequentfryer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
165 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#11 of 13 in Sidmouth
68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Groveside Guest House
The Groveside Guest House
#9 of 32 in Sidmouth
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Farmhouse

Property: The Old Farmhouse
Address: Hillside Road, Sidmouth EX10 8JG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Farmhouse 4*
Also Known As:
The Old Farmhouse Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing