We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food and gluten free too”
Review of The Grosvenor Tea Room - CLOSED

The Grosvenor Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A modern tea room with a lovely outlook. We have homemade cakes and fantastic coffee.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and gluten free too”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Just so nice to be able to enjoy a gluten free snack which can be so difficult to find whilst on hols. Lovely atmosphere, so friendly. We are back in Sidmouth July this year and a couple of visits to this tea room is already on the agenda.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your GF food with us. Did you have one of Frank's GF cakes? His Bakewell cake made with GF flour is one of our most popular cakes. We look forward to seeing you in the summer, be sure to let us know you wrote this review when you come in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Friendly service and home-made cakes”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We popped into the Grosvenor Tea room for afternoon tea and found it to be a very pleasant experience. We were made to feel very welcome and the cakes were lovely (I had Bakewell and my husband had scones) but there were plenty of others to choose from.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seasidedancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit to our tearoom. All the cakes are made by Frank and the Bakewell is a great favourite and it is Gluten Free too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great service at the end of a very busy day,”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

During folk week towards the end of a blisteringly hot day we were warmly welcomed and served with a smile. We were so glad of the welcome as we were tired and hot from walking in the sun.

Everything was nicely presented with the tea in real china, hot and freshly made. The cakes were yummy, ( we have never seen so many wonderful cakes in one town.) I enjoyed a delicate locally made ice cream in a glass!

This is a must go to when we return next year. We want to sample the cream teas which looked marvellous.
Thank you.

ps the Tea Room is very easy to find as it next to the main entrance of the lovely parish church and just off the market square.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank c n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Thank you for your kind review. This was our first experience of Sidmouth Folk Week and we thoroughly enjoyed it, Sidmouth now seems so quiet. The weather was wonderful and a good time was had by all!
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to us and we look forward to seeing you next year when you return for your promised Devon Cream Tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Visited this tea room last week. How lovely. We sat outside with out little girl and shared fruited scones and plain scones. The fuited ones especially lovey with the addition of spice. I could have sat their all day drinking tea. Will visit on our next trip to sidmouth much better the pan Costa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bex82_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your cream teas with us last week. Frank makes all our scones including cheese ones and also our cakes. And his secret with the fruit scones - the fruit is soaked in tea with the addition of cinnamon. We look forward to seeing you and your family next time you visit Sidmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lovely little place, slightly off the main street”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a very pretty little place with the look of an old fashioned tea room and a couple of tables outside as well.
The welsh rarebit was very good and the home made cakes looked lovely so I may try some another time. The cream teas sounded very inviting too :-)
The owners are friendly and it is the sort of place that you want to go back to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarinaDeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found us! We are a little off the main shopping street but in Church Street (where we are) there are a number of lovely independant shops to discover and we proudly call ourselves the "Bond Street" of Sidmouth.
We are pleased you enjoyed Frank's Welsh Rarebit which he makes to his own special recipe, next time do sample his cakes or a Cream Tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grosvenor Tea Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing