We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of The Grosvenor Tea Room - CLOSED

The Grosvenor Tea Room
Price range: US$3 - US$9
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: A modern tea room with a lovely outlook. We have homemade cakes and fantastic coffee.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing tea, coffee, cream tea and cake. Lovely hosts and beautiful environment, light airy and clean. Just perfect. Thank you

Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
What a great review, thank you so much. All the cakes and scones are made by Frank and he is pleased you enjoyed his baking. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Cream Tea”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife being a celiac we always search the internet for places to eat before leaving to visit anywhere. We were holidaying in Exmouth and decided to visit Sidmouth and found the Tea Rooms. We stopped in for a cream teas as since being diagnosed we have not found anywhere that do them so far. Well what can I say excellent little tea room lovely decor and friendly attentive staff. Frank even took time out to discuss the art of gluten free baking with my wife. A wonderful experience and would highly recommend you visit. We shall definitely return next time we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We are really pleased you enjoyed your Gluten Free Cream Tea, as I am sure Frank explained we have only just started offering GF scones. He has been making GF cakes for some time now and the Bakewell is our most popular cake with everyone whatever their dietary requirements. So thank you for taking time to write this review and hopefully anyone else looking for a GF Devon Cream Tea will come in and try ours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely little tea room”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

as a family of three we thoroughly enjoyed their coffee and milk shakes. Very attentive staff - would go back again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cazsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We popped in here for a cream tea and were pleased with the service and food on offer. We found both owners very warm and welcoming and we enjoyed the scones and tea. We'd come back here.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gedmund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your Devon cream tea with us. We do our best to make everyone feel welcome. When we get busy it is difficult to have time to chat to all our customers. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Sidmouth. Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Called in for afternoon tea. Lovely tea/coffee shop. Very pretty decor! Owners very attentive and welcoming. Tea and scones delicious!! When we return to Sidmouth we will definitely return.
Many thanks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DinoSharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev T, Owner at The Grosvenor Tea Room, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you liked our decor and more especially our homemade scones and cakes. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grosvenor Tea Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing