We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restraurant in Sidmouth !!!”
Review of The Loft

The Loft
Ranked #16 of 80 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Voted No.52 in the top 100 restaurants outside London in 2015 by Square Meal, the independent restaurant guide. We are open Tuesday to Saturday 10 To 3 for Breakfast, morning coffee & Lunch and both Friday and Saturday in the evening from 6 (booking advisable). During peak times we are sometimes unable to serve just drinks or snacks (this includes starters) as tables are reserved for those wishing to have lunch or dinner. Please telephone for reservations. Dogs are welcome on the terrace which is open weather permitting. Our food is seasonal & freshly prepared, we use local suppliers where possible, our bread, fish and vegetables are from traders on Sidmouth high street. We cater for dietary needs including vegetarian, Gluten Free & coeliac.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best restraurant in Sidmouth !!!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Been meaning to visit The Loft for some and finally popped in for dinner. Met and seated by the owners and immeadiately made to feel welcome. The place is fantastic with great layout and interior. Felt relaxed before we even sat down. Decided to go with the specials and was not disappointed. We chose the Lemon Sole and Lamb shank and both were delightful. Great menu, Good choice of wines and drinks etc and all for a reasonable price. John & Kat made us feel so welcome and we ended up being the last ones to leave after a thoughly enjoyable evening. Will definately be going back, often. Fantastic

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tstrong1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Wahooo our 100th review and its a 5*, thank you so much. Was lovely meeting you both, very spooky that you moved down here on the exact date we opened the Loft. So glad that you finally managed to get in, was an absolute pleasure meeting you both and I hope we see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    59
    15
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Sidmouth Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

As a party of 12 we visited The Loft for my dad's 70th birthday lunch.
We had preordered antipasti meat and cheese boards which were absolutely lovely-delicious cheeses and chorizo etc. We then had a wonderful vegetable lasagne for us veggies and the meat eaters had chicken. We had this with some beautiful roasted sweet potato, garlic bread and salad. The children, who ranged in age from 3 to 13, had a great time constructing their own pizzas which were then cooked for them.
All the food was fabulously tasty and there was a lot of it!
The Loft looks down on to Sidmouth high street and is great for people watching. The atmosphere is relaxed and very welcoming and I would recommend it to anyone.
We had pre-booked for a special occasion but there are plenty of tables so definitely pop in even if you haven't booked.
We will definitely go back soon as this is the best eatery in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Jocelyn, thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. You have a fantastic family and your dad certainly doesn't look 70!
We were overwhelmed on Saturday when he said 'thank you so much for a lovely lunch, we knew it was going to be good, but this exceeded our expectations' .
Our friends and family feasts are becoming very popular, its just a nice way to come together and share food and the children's 'make your own pizzas' are still a firm favourite.
I hope that we get to see you all again soon, fingers crossed you will be able to sit out on the terrace then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great find !!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Looking for a place to lunch in Sidmouth, we came across The Loft. Nice airy restaurant, we sat outside on the roof terrace in a sun trap. Food was fresh with a good choice and service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john2953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank your for fab review. So glad that you were able to sit on the terrace and enjoy the sunshine, it certainly is a sun trap. The recently stripped floorboards (10 hours of sanding the other Sunday) were definitely worth the hardwork and effort, at it does give a much 'airer' feel to the restaurant and we have had so many positive comments. Thank you for also mentioning the choice and freshnesh of our food and the quality of our service and we hope you will be back again soon in sunny Sidmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The reviews are right - it's good”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Lunch for 7, friendly staff, good range of food inc several veggie options, told us when to expect the food, vast pots of tea, delicious food cooked to perfection. Pleasant airy room. Every age there from small children to elderly. And under £100. Definitely a good choice.

Helpful?
Thank Chilternette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for writing your fantastic review. I hope that everything went as well as it could in the afternoon. It was lovely meeting you all and I am so glad that you chose us for your lunch. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the food, staff, atmosphere and price, it really is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ambient & delicious”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Visited The Loft on Saturday and they managed to squeeze us in even though they were really busy, had a lovely meal, staff really friendly, even applied a plaster to my little boys elbow after a scrape outside, food was delicious, I had the chicken & bacon Caesar salad with skinny fries with Parmesan & Rosemary and a nice cold glass of Sauvignon Blanc, my son had a "make your own pizza". A really pleasant & relaxed atmosphere with lovely decor, will visit again when next in Sidmouth.

Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you so much for the taking the time to write your fantastic 5* review. So glad that we were able to fit you both in, as we never like to turn people away. I will pass on your thanks to James & Rachel who were working that day and who sorted out the plaster for you. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loft also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing