We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“at last!”
Review of The Loft

The Loft
Ranked #14 of 80 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Voted No.52 in the top 100 restaurants outside London in 2015 by Square Meal, the independent restaurant guide. We are open Tuesday to Saturday 10 To 3 for Breakfast, morning coffee & Lunch and Thursday (Fish & Seafood Night), Friday and Saturday in the evening from 6 (booking advisable). During peak times we are sometimes unable to serve just drinks or snacks (this includes starters) as tables are reserved for those wishing to have lunch or dinner. Please telephone for reservations. Dogs are welcome on the terrace which is open weather permitting. Our food is seasonal & freshly prepared, we use local suppliers where possible, our bread, fish and vegetables are from traders on Sidmouth high street. We cater for dietary needs including vegetarian, Gluten Free & coeliac.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

At last a quality restaurant in Sidmouth! We went twice during our recent stay - first of all on a Friday evening and then, because we had enjoyed it so much, a week later for Saturday lunch. Both meals were excellent: imaginative, enjoyable and copious. The pizzas are the most filling I've ever had outside my own kitchen! The Loft might prove a bit difficult for people with mobility problems, although my 80-year-old mum managed the stairs and loved the food. A bit of a shame that they don't open for Sunday lunch or any evenings othe than Friday and Saturday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank phil_oldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your 5* review. It was lovely seeing you twice during your holiday here in Sidmouth and so glad that you enjoyed both your meals. Our pizzas have been a huge hit, although some do find them very filling, we have boxes so that people can take it home if they don't manage to finish it all.

With regards to our opening hours, we felt that to remain consistent John and myself need to be here every service, the restaurant is very personal to us, we have a great team and we all love what we do, opening more evenings and on Sundays would have a detrimental affect on the service, not only would we be exhausted but we also wouldn't see our family and we would stop enjoying what we do.

Have a great summer and we hope to see you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 252 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having been coming to Sidmouth now on and off for over 40 years, what a pleasure it was to find this hidden gem!
My partner, mother and I ate at the Loft twice during our weeks holiday. The food was stunning. All freshly prepared and cooked to perfection. A really good range on the menu with different 'specials' for each of our visits, and a fantastic array of cheeses. So much so, I had to make a trip to the deli on the high street, before going home to take some 'Delice' cheese back with me to Lancashire. The Loft provides a great atmosphere with young, enthusiastic staff all whom are willing and courteous, a winning combination in my book. We're back in September for a few days and will be definitely booking a table for another enjoyable evening....or two!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank wltraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Many thanks for your fantastic review. Your positive comments have been passed on to the team, all of whom we couldn't do without. It is great linking in with the Cheesboard, not only is it keeping it local but like yourself people are able to go and buy what they have tried at ours. Really looking forward to seeing you in September, have a lovely summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived and looked at trip advisor for good restaurants in the area .

It said the loft was number 1

In the past we have used this as a measurement but can honestly say that on occasion we have been disappointed

On this occasion we can agree all was first class

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rossfern31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review and your positive comments, both are greatly appreciated. Have a great summer and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We've just had a lovely meal here. I can highly recommend the mackerel pate and salmon. Lovely area to eat in with a great location. Very attentive waiters! Had a lovely time :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorzi666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you so much for your very positive review. Karl and Harrison were working the evening you were in, both great local lads and I will definitely pass on your comments. The Salmon with butter sauce and samphire is one of our most poplular dishes and so glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Well what can I say !!!!! Fantastic!!!! Had my friends surprise birthday.... Unbelievable .... Not only Kath served us with the amazing warmth and exuberant greeting. Delicious food , a real fun lunch was had was had by all.Thank you Kath and John the grilled Italian bread was to die for. Yum yum can't wait to try it again. The Crab and prawn linguini delicious specially we asked to have it extra hot !!!! bless the chef came out and asked us if it was to our taste.... . We and my friends can't wait to return. Xxxxxxx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank wallisDevonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for your great review and for sharing the occasion with us. So glad that your friend also liked her birthday meringue, they are becoming very popular, not just for birthdays but for other occasions as well. Hope to see you all again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loft also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing