We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”
Review of The Loft

The Loft
Ranked #12 of 79 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Voted No.52 in the top 100 restaurants outside London in 2015 by Square Meal, the independent restaurant guide. We are open Tuesday to Saturday 10 To 3 for Breakfast, morning coffee & Lunch and both Friday and Saturday in the evening from 6 (booking advisable). During peak times we are sometimes unable to serve just drinks or snacks (this includes starters) as tables are reserved for those wishing to have lunch or dinner. Please telephone for reservations. Dogs are welcome on the terrace which is open weather permitting. Our food is seasonal & freshly prepared, we use local suppliers where possible, our bread, fish and vegetables are from traders on Sidmouth high street. We cater for dietary needs including vegetarian, Gluten Free & coeliac.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My first review on TA as we had such a nice evening I just had to write this. Four adults and two children. Food was fantastic, atmosphere was great and the staff were just spot on. My kids loved it. We all want to go back!!! Thanks to you all.

Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We really appreciate you taking the time to sign up to TripAdvisor and writing the review just for us. So glad that you all enjoyed yourselves, we certainly had a lovely time watching you have fun and enjoying the food. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    58
    15
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service great food lovely staff”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Went tonight with 2 children whole experience was superb.
It's great when you get a good restuarant that serves really good food, has great staff and owner
And is also very good with children so much so that the girls can't wait to go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, it was an absolute pleasure meeting you all. Lois and Edie are lovely girls and we loved our badges and artwork they did for us. We really do hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous as always!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say, I love the Loft and could dine there every week without getting bored! The food is excellent, on my last visit my husband and I had rump of lamb from the specials menu and we didn't want it to end it was so good! As for the desserts, they are all yummy but the caramel slice is a little taste of heaven!
The service is great too with Kat on front of house who is so welcoming, she makes you feel at home and is so enthusiastic about the food it's hard not to order everything on the menu! John the chef always appears towards the end of the evening too, which is lovely as it clear they really care about their restaurant and their customers.
Well deserved to be #1

Helpful?
Thank Poppyt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review, really appreciate you taking the time to write it. Our popularity and the positive comments we get go far beyond what we ever imagined. Everything we do is with the intention of satisfying our customers, so when that's recognised it tells us we must be doing it right. Its nice for John to get out of the kitchen, he then can see first hand the positive response to his food......and have a beer!
Thank you once again, hope to see you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant breakfast!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I've always loved The Loft, but Saturday was my first opportunity to try out the breakfast menu. My scrambled eggs were beautiful, hot, light and buttery! However I shall be returning to try the Eggs Benedict as I had food envy when this appeared in front of my husband! We were feeling greedy so we also split a plate of toast and jam - doorstep slices of toast with homemade strawberry jam! Not surprisingly we couldn't manage another morsel until supper. Top that off with superb fresh coffee, lots of smiles and laughter from the staff and a light and airy setting from which to watch Sidmouth go about its business - well worth getting out of bed for!! We will definately be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightning2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your second review for us. So glad that you enjoyed your breakfasts just as much as when you have eaten with us before. Thank you for mentioning the staff and the laughter, we do like to have fun and I hope that others appreciate that its all part of what we are about, relaxed and informal. Hope to see you both again very soon, maybe for our seafood evening?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The kitchen produces meals that show some real care and imagination, delivering quality that I could expect at double the price or half the portions (please don't do this!), truly amazing.

Staff might be some the best experienced, really know their stuff and seem to actually enjoy providing the service.

Can't recommend enough, just wish they were open more!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yummyfoody1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, especially the mention of our great staff. Don't worry we wont be halving the portions or putting up the prices, as its all about value for money. Thank you once again for such positive comments, they really are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loft also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing