We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow!”
Review of The Loft

The Loft
Ranked #10 of 82 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$16
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Voted No.52 in the top 100 restaurants outside London in 2015 by Square Meal, the independent restaurant guide. We are open Tuesday to Saturday 10 To 3 for Breakfast, morning coffee & Lunch and Thursday (Fish & Seafood Night), Friday and Saturday in the evening from 6 (booking advisable). During peak times we are sometimes unable to serve just drinks or snacks (this includes starters) as tables are reserved for those wishing to have lunch or dinner. Please telephone for reservations. Dogs are welcome on the terrace which is open weather permitting. Our food is seasonal & freshly prepared, we use local suppliers where possible, our bread, fish and vegetables are from traders on Sidmouth high street. We cater for dietary needs including vegetarian, Gluten Free & coeliac.
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Well what can i say this place was absolutely fantastic write from the food and pleasant polite staff down to the decor and the cutest vintage candy shop tin that we received our bill in!!(may i also add that the tin not only contained the bill but complimentary jelly babies too).
The loft is by far the best restaurant my partner and myself have ever visited along with our two friends,its roomy,light, shabby chic decor gives off a relaxed, informal but also very professional atmosphere,the staff where friendly and amazingly co-operative when it came to our pregnant friends choice of the menu and advised her that they would remove or swap any ingredients that were not suitable for her.The food was impeccable we all had a taste of each others meals and we could not a fault a thing both the presentation and the flavor of a all the dishes were perfect and they are certainly not fibbing when they say the caramel slice is the BEST EVER!!
we will most certainly be back in fact we are already planning the next visit!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank victoria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Victoria, thank you so much, not just for this fantastic review but for all your lovely comments on the evening. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you all and we hope that you make the trip from Exeter to come and see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 255 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Popped in 4 a coffee which was delicious, recently taken over by people who had another place locally. All very nicely decorated, and very friendly and happy.
Came back later for lunch which was wonderful. We shared a platter of cold meats italian style with delicious crusty warm rolls and side dishes. Chilled wines and followed by coffees. Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sall-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review. So glad that you enjoyed your coffees and then your lunch. The antipasti remains a firm favourite and like in your case add a glass with it and it become the perfect lunch. Look forward to seeing you when you are next in Sidmouth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My first review on TA as we had such a nice evening I just had to write this. Four adults and two children. Food was fantastic, atmosphere was great and the staff were just spot on. My kids loved it. We all want to go back!!! Thanks to you all.

Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your amazing review. We really appreciate you taking the time to sign up to TripAdvisor and writing the review just for us. So glad that you all enjoyed yourselves, we certainly had a lovely time watching you have fun and enjoying the food. Look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Went tonight with 2 children whole experience was superb.
It's great when you get a good restuarant that serves really good food, has great staff and owner
And is also very good with children so much so that the girls can't wait to go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review, it was an absolute pleasure meeting you all. Lois and Edie are lovely girls and we loved our badges and artwork they did for us. We really do hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say, I love the Loft and could dine there every week without getting bored! The food is excellent, on my last visit my husband and I had rump of lamb from the specials menu and we didn't want it to end it was so good! As for the desserts, they are all yummy but the caramel slice is a little taste of heaven!
The service is great too with Kat on front of house who is so welcoming, she makes you feel at home and is so enthusiastic about the food it's hard not to order everything on the menu! John the chef always appears towards the end of the evening too, which is lovely as it clear they really care about their restaurant and their customers.
Well deserved to be #1

Thank Poppyt07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrinalort63, Owner at The Loft, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review, really appreciate you taking the time to write it. Our popularity and the positive comments we get go far beyond what we ever imagined. Everything we do is with the intention of satisfying our customers, so when that's recognised it tells us we must be doing it right. Its nice for John to get out of the kitchen, he then can see first hand the positive response to his food......and have a beer!
Thank you once again, hope to see you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Loft also viewed

 

Been to The Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing