We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for the recent Saracens vs Exeter Chiefs rugby match with my daughter and friend. The room we stayed in was clean, large and had access to the lovely garden out back. Staff and owner were very friendly and looked after my daughter.

Breakfast was great too. Would recommend!!

Just 5 minute walk down to the beach and town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benrufus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    103
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
97
188
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night while on business
Although the owners still have some way to go to upgrade the hotel the efforts so far with the rooms are good
As for service first class friendly and helpful
Breakfast first class
Wish you well for the future

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brackley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The very unusual frontage of the hotel plus the VACANCIES sign were all we needed to book into this hotel for a two night stay. We were immediately impressed by the very warm welcome we received and the no nonsense mini tour of the rooms to make our choice. The owners are relativey new and seem to have the task of renovation and repair well under way. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was ample and delicious and the bar and lounges impressive. Free parking and Wifi available with the town in easy walking distance. There is also the wonderful 18 hole Sidmouth golf club with spectacular views only a mile up the hill from the hotel, We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood. Hants
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Would totally endorse previous reviews - My son, daughter-in-law and myself so enjoyed our stay and the really genuine welcome of Megan and Dan was a treat! -particularly for myself, being in my late 80's and very disabled. I was made to feel comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and the food of 4star quality and presentation. The downstairs rooms are very suitable for the disabled - even our dog was made at home.
When all their refurbishments and ideas are in place, this will be an exceptional hotel. We wish Megan and Dan the success they deserve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have just returned from the Woodlands Hotel , we found everybody so friendly and the hosts made us feel very welcome. The meals were excellent and our room was lovely and very big with views across the garden. The hotel is currently under restoration but that did not have any effect on our stay.We hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat22856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

What a friendly hotel with great new hosts, Dan & Megan in charge.
The hotel is comfortable and relaxing although the owners are implementing refurbishment plans which are smartening public rooms. Seasoned travellers will nevertheless agree that good service and high food quality are imperatives and you will not be disappointed.
Dan & Megan are great company and they really went the extra mile, and more, to welcome my wife and I and my elderly disabled mother. No effort was too great and we were swiftly made to feel welcome, at ease and at home! Other staff were of the same mindset - Leah in particular looked after us in the dining room which is beautifully fashioned and appealingly laid out.
The hotel has much history of interest and is set in delightful gardens. A large bright conservatory offers a comfortable and inviting lounge area and our bedrooms were spacious and well appointed.
Wheelchair friendliness was a bonus and our dog enjoyed the visit too. Shops and seafront within 5 minutes stroll.
Highly recommended and we wish Dan & Megan every success which they surely deserve in their new adventure. We certainly intend to go back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have views of the garden. Don't just book bed and breakfast - the dinners off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Godfrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Have just returned home having spent a very enjoyable break at the Woodlands Hotel The owners were very welcoming and made you feel like one of the family. The food was of a very high standard and nothing was too much bother. The room was immaculate and offered all the facilities required and although the hotel is currently being refurbished you can see it is going to be of an excellent standard. We wish the owners every success for the future and we cannot wait to make a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olly347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing