We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Many thanks to the Woodlands Hotel team. We recently had an 18th birthday party at the Woodlands Hotel and the staff, facilities and food were excellent. We managed to commandeer the bar area and conservatory for a band and disco and found that the staff were more than happy to accommodate our requests. Friendly new owners and a great venue made for a fantastic night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    103
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
97
188
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

What a wonderful family run hotel! While I know that the new owners just took ownership and that they are renovating, they have continued to run the hotel wonderfully and taking care of all requirements of their guests.
The hotel is looking so beautiful with the painting and work and I cannot wait to return to see all of the changes!
The room was very large and clean, the food excellent and the new owners so kind and generous with their time and help!
I would definitely return and will recommend it to anyone traveling to the Devon region and the town is lovely!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Spent excellent weekend here, so nice to stay in in a non standard hotel! Owners couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming and bent over backwards to fulfill your every need. Have never been to Sidmouth before, but found it to be a lovely place, Will definatly be going again

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank barbsconley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for the recent Saracens vs Exeter Chiefs rugby match with my daughter and friend. The room we stayed in was clean, large and had access to the lovely garden out back. Staff and owner were very friendly and looked after my daughter.

Breakfast was great too. Would recommend!!

Just 5 minute walk down to the beach and town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benrufus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night while on business
Although the owners still have some way to go to upgrade the hotel the efforts so far with the rooms are good
As for service first class friendly and helpful
Breakfast first class
Wish you well for the future

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Brackley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

The very unusual frontage of the hotel plus the VACANCIES sign were all we needed to book into this hotel for a two night stay. We were immediately impressed by the very warm welcome we received and the no nonsense mini tour of the rooms to make our choice. The owners are relativey new and seem to have the task of renovation and repair well under way. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was ample and delicious and the bar and lounges impressive. Free parking and Wifi available with the town in easy walking distance. There is also the wonderful 18 hole Sidmouth golf club with spectacular views only a mile up the hill from the hotel, We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood. Hants
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Would totally endorse previous reviews - My son, daughter-in-law and myself so enjoyed our stay and the really genuine welcome of Megan and Dan was a treat! -particularly for myself, being in my late 80's and very disabled. I was made to feel comfortable and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and the food of 4star quality and presentation. The downstairs rooms are very suitable for the disabled - even our dog was made at home.
When all their refurbishments and ideas are in place, this will be an exceptional hotel. We wish Megan and Dan the success they deserve.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.2 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing