We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family winter break”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have spent 2 nights in a family suite at the Woodlands and had a wonderful time. Perfect accommodation for a family with three kids. Dan and Megan were great hosts and very helpful. They made us very welcome and part of the family. The breakfasts and dinners were fantastic. Only a short walk to the beach and town. Great value for money. We are looking forward to our next stay. Thanks Dan and Megan for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: The family suite was great for two to three children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

So its January, rainy, the hotel is having the patio re done (not much used in January) and I nearly forgot the owner had only moved in seven months ago. Sounds like a recipe for disaster.

We had the best time, my partner described it as "perfect" and I cant disagree.

The two nights we stayed we were made very welcome, this is a hotel that is individual and stylish, we were tempted by the mirrors and chairs but honesty got the better of us.

Dan and Megan (proprietors) made us feel very at home, and I wish the luck. We will be going again!

Room Tip: Ask Dan what you would like and he will try (very hard) to help you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_63_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel for business. And well the host have to be the most accommodating that I have ever had. They make you so welcome and for us feel like there extended family. The food was very tasteful and plenty of it . Thanks for a great stay. Looking forward to taking my family back this summer..c. kerens

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank clintkerens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

A very warm welcome awaited us when we arrived at the Woodlands. The proprietors (Dan and Megan) are so friendly and could not do enough for us to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Having arrived directly from Spain, they understood our request for a quiet, relaxing drink in the large, comfortable lounge/bar. Our food, breakfast and evening meals were first class. Our room was large , clean and very comfortable. We stayed at the Woodlands to attend a family funeral and so had little time to explore Sidmouth but the sea front is only a short walk away. The patio area was being extended to a very large area whilst we were there and I can foresee this being well used in the summer (excellent for a function). We left feeling part of the family. David and Jo. Rojales, Spain

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_foad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at Woodlands for a couple of days break just after the New Year. The hotel is a beautiful and interesting building - and our room was very nicely decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable and my husband said he got a better night's sleep than he usually did at home! We were given a very warm welcome by the owners and very much enjoyed our early evening drinks in the lovely bar/conservatory area. The hotel was located very conveniently for the restaurants, shops and beach. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back for a summer visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We enjoyed excellent support from Woodlands Hotel during the funeral preparation visit, and funeral social event, following the death of my father. Arrangements and catering were exactly suited to our needs, with much good advice coming from Dan and Megan Cozens. Rooms clean, comfortable, and with many delightful features from interesting history of the building, and its association with Prince Regent. Highly recommended as function venue and as accommodation for a visit to Sidmouth.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed over the Christmas break and loved it. Lovely large hotel with fully equipped rooms catering for a large number of people those few days. Delicious meals and a big conservatory for everyone to get together in the evenings. Also a very short walk to the beach. Looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
937 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Address: Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £96 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodlands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing