We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family- run, friendly and quirky features”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed an extremely comfortable, spacious room, a warm welcome, a delicious roast dinner and a hearty, well-presented breakfast. Recommended are the home-baked puddings (fresh from the kitchen of the owner's mother) which were light and fabulous. Under new management, the restaurant 's crisp white tablecloths set the scene well. Large, Gothic windows look out over a terrace and one wall is studded with a miscellany of mirrors. The sweeping staircase, large chandelier, subtle pale grey paintwork and high ceilings all give an impression of roominess and relaxation.
We were delighted that our well-behaved, small dog was welcome in the lounge area and was able to sleep in a corner of our room. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 469 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel was wonderful and after experience of big chain hotels it was refreshing to stay at the Woodlands Hotel. This family run hotel made for a great base during our visit to Sidmouth - very central to the local town and the seafront. The owners were a joy to be around including Cookie the family pet and we loved the fact they keep chickens, providing free range eggs should you want them as part of your breakfast. Breakfast was very good and came promptly. The bedrooms and hotel in general is very clean and decorated and furnished beautifully. The owners are obviously working hard to make the hotel very aesthetically pleasing to the eye and inviting. The owners provided a very personal service and experience staying there - they couldn't do more for us. We would definately go there again and recommend it to family and friends. Keep up the great work and many thanks, Lucy Steptoes on behalf of all the Steptoe/Glass families.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucySteptoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Dan and Megan and their delightful family made my husband and I so welcome. They are doing a grand job refurbishing the hotel and gardens. Loved our fresh eggs from the chickens each morning. Breakfasts and Dinner were great - and the Conservatory is brilliant - the honesty bar was really useful as it can't be manned the whole time. Hotel is ideally situated - easy stroll to the Sea front and the town. Lovely Garden and Patio - making early evening drinks before dinner watching the sun go down - ideal - even a BBQ for the children who were staying was a great idea - thus leaving the dining room for other guests. Ample parking. We will return.

Room Tip: Small compact room on the front corner of the hotel so we had two windows. Very quiet - probably the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from Sidmouth and a very relaxing 2 night stay at the Woodlands Hotel. We booked this hotel on-line and took a chance it would be good. It was more than good, and we have to say, one of the best breaks we have had. The owners, Dan and Megan made us very welcome, and the room and food were excellent. The hotel is very comfortable and has a homely touch about it. The distance to the beach front and town centre is also a plus for this hotel. We will return to this hotel again in the future and will recommend it to friends and family. Val and Don Dix.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a 25-roomed hotel of considerable historical interest and situated close to the seafront and the town centre. I was reasonably content with a stay there a few years ago but a clear need for an updating of facilities may well have prevented some guests from returning. Now, however, the hotel is under new and energetic ownership and neither effort nor expense has been spared in bringing it up-to-date. Guests are given a great welcome, nothing is too much trouble and the food is first class. Bedrooms are graded standard or superior. Mine was "superior" and fully earned that description, both for comfort and facilities.

Room Tip: the rear of the building overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just spent 2 nights at Woodlands enjoying walking along the beautiful coastal path. Megan and Dan are wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. We stayed in a large ground floor room and enjoyed the evening sunshine through the patio doors. Megan and Dan are refurbishing the hotel and the ensuite needed updating but I am sure that is on their list. The conservatory and dining room are lovely and we enjoyed eating dinner at the hotel. The food was well cooked and presented and piping hot. We wish Megan and Dan every success with their new venture. Hope to see you again when we visit Sidmouth in the future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dillon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have just returned home from 3 nights at the Woodlands Hotel with elderly parents. From the moment we arrived, the owners Dan and Megan were very welcoming, helpful and friendly and made our stay most enjoyable. The Hotel has a lovely lounge/conservatory and plenty seating areas. We stayed for breakfast and dinner and enjoyed all the meals. My in-laws had a spacious and attractive ground floor room with walk in shower and doors on to the patio. There is an onsite car park and the seafront is only a short walk away. I would certainly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone visiting Sidmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
962 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Address: Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £112 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodlands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing