We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woodlands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Elizabeth(Sidmouth)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sidholme Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Riviera(Sidmouth)
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
359
127
10
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
359
127
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty bardan meganlarge conservatorywarm welcomelovely family hotelthe ground flooroverlooking the gardensea fronttown centrefriendly hotelsuperior roompatio doorspretty gardenshort walkfeel very welcomefriendly ownerscomfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
387 - 392 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband & I have just returned from a wonderful weekend at Woodlands Hotel.
From the moment we arrived Dan & Megan were at the fore front making sure we were ok, providing pots of tea & ensuring we were comfortable.
We had a Superior room which was big, with plenty of seating and a delightful bed, overlooking the garden which is work in progress.
The hotel location is good for getting out & about by foot if you wish & ample parking too which is a plus.
We did a BB&EM - food was a good quality, very hot, well presented and taken in a lovely dining room. The conservatory is a lovely place to chill at any time of the day but lovely too in the evening to take your coffee or have a drink from a very well stocked bar.
Counting the time till we can return again and spend time this lovely family.

Room Tip: We had Room 1 which was on the ground and the doors opened onto the pretty garden
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockchick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed one night but wil definitely be back. A lovely warm welcome from Dan and Chip the dog. We stayed in room 14, really nice and spacious and the huge bed was so comfortable. Such a relaxing place, chilled out in the garden with drinks from the bar. Breakfast was spot on, delicious with home-laid eggs. The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Looking forward to staying again soon. Thanks Dan and Megan!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I first stayed at the Woodlands 30 years ago and had a great time there. My second visit was about 2 years ago and it was very run down with lacklustre service.

It was after reading several favourable reviews that I decided to stay there again, and am I glad I did! The Woodlands is not only being restored to its former glory but Dan and Megan are also making considerable improvements. The whole place has been redecorated, the beds are new and the duvets, pillows and sheets are all excellent quality. The large conservatory has comfy sofas and chairs, and there's a good selection of magazines and newspapers.

We (family and friends) booked 4 rooms for 3 nights dinner, bed & breakfast. Our food was tasty and well presented, the service excellent. Dan and Megan made us so welcome that we felt like part of the family. We were sorry to leave and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 (a large bedroom with small ensuite shower) and 5 (a small double) are very nice and on the ground floor, both have French doors opening onto the sun terrace. Room 14, on the first floor, is spacious with a window seat overlooking the conservatory roof and has a good size bathroom (there's a step up to the ensuite).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraC2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Have stayed in Sidmouth before, this was the first time at Woodlands. The main reason was for a visit to the local theatre and this hotel is situated in a perfect spot, no more than a hundred yards from our goal. Megan and Dan who run the hotel could not be more accommodating, the rooms are clean and bright, ours on the ground floor was compact, but had everything you would need, comfy bed, shower (no bath, that's ok). More room needed? open the doors and walk out onto the patio. Really quiet area to read or just enjoy the weather. We had one meal at the hotel, fresh food, cooked well and served with a smile. Breakfast every morning, very good choice and should be variety enough for anyone.
This is a good hotel just to get away and relax, both Dan and Megan do all they can to make your stay a pleasure, helped by Chips and the rest of the family. Chips being a very nice chocolate lab.
With all the work that has been going on and effort put in to refurbish the establishment, we can only wish Dan and Megan all the best for the future,and look forward to a return visit to see the end result.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowlersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from excellent weekend away with a group of friends staying at the Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth in the lovely County of Devon. Hotel was booked by our organiser as it is near to the beach and town centre and rates seemed very reasonable. Hotel far exceeded expectations, rooms were immaculate and bathrooms very recently refurbished also spotless. Food, general ambience, friendliness and attentive treatment from all staff, especially Dan and his wife were really really good and we all instantly felt at home. Dan and wife are fairly new owners but obviously know how to look after people and I wish them all the best and can thoroughly recommend the Woodlands.

Room Tip: 10 off us in our group, all impressed with rooms especially those who plumped for single occupancy but all seemed more than satisfactory
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews