We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely friendly place to stay”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Have just returned from a few days at the Woodland hotel and can only echo what other reviewers have said, a lovely place to stay. Dan and Megan are super hosts, who really seem to enjoy getting to know their guests, ably helped by their daughters and Chip the dog.
The food was good, served in a pretty dinning room, we had dinner and breakfast and both were excellent. Bedrooms were clean and well appointment, comfortable beds.
Guests were served coffee after dinner in the large conservatory overlooking the gardens, which was a great meeting place for post dinner chats.
The hotel is a short walk away from the beach and the charming regency town of Sidmouth. We would thoroughly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highpoint122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My mother and I, accompanied by three dogs, returned home from a four night stay at Woodlands on Sunday. I can only echo what has been said here before in that Megan and Dan really make the place by being welcoming, friendly and attentive without being intrusive. I left feeling like I had known them for years. We were very kindly given rooms which took into consideration our circumstances without even having to ask; my mother was given a ground floor room which opened out onto the garden, perfect for her with a dog and no need for her to trouble with stairs, I was given a spacious double as I had said on booking that I had two dogs and was hoping that my partner would join me on the Saturday night which he duly did (incidentally he is someone who never sleeps well in hotel rooms, but declared on Sunday morning it was the best night sleep he had had away from home). The dining room is light and airy and looks out onto the garden, breakfast was superb, gorgeous sausages and the best poached egg I think I have ever had thanks to chef Frank. Dinner in the evenings was very good quality and great value at £20 per person for three courses plus coffee. My family have been regular holiday makers in Sidmouth in various establishments for generations, it has been ten years since I have had the pleasure of staying in the dear old place, but my break at Woodlands made me want to keep my bags packed and get back down and stay at Megan and Dan's lovely hotel again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had two days in Sidmouth, and were delighted with the warm and friendly welcome at Woodlands. It is an attractive building nicely modernised. The bedroom was not large but fully adequate although we were troubled one night by the creaking floorboards in the landing outside our room. The restaurant is most attractive and faces onto the terrace and garden which are in the process of renovation. We had the best fish and chip dinner we have ever had; and the breakfasts were very good indeed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We recently stayed at the Woodlands - could not have wished for a better hotel- great welcome from Dan and Megan, nothing was too much trouble for them. and the food was superb
A character hotel with a great conservatory and terrace overlooking the garden.

Beds were really comfortable and room was very spacious- we had No 4 and would highly recommend it!

Chip was lovely and we hope to come and see you all again

Room Tip: No 4 on the ground floor opening on to terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First time staying at The Woodlands and it was a really lovely experience. I was welcome but also my assistance dog Giuseppe and that made all the difference to my holiday being relaxing and brilliant. Megan and Dan are really lovely hosts. The hotel is clean and welcoming. The food was really lovely and they catered for my special coeliac diet. The hotel is in with easy walking distance of the sea front and the town but outside of the hustle and bustle to escape. Has a lovely conservatory area to sit in the evening and just chill. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed at Woodlands for a week in May during International Donkey week. As a solo traveller i couldnt have been made to feel more welcome! Dan and Megan are wonderful hosts, nothing is too much trouble. A lovely character hotel that has recently been renovated, with a large relaxing conservatory with comfy sofas and a bar if you fancy a tipple! there is also a lovely patio area and garden with its own resident chickens....so fresh eggs every morning!
Chip the lovely natured family dog was always willing to be fussed if you felt so inclined!
I didnt sleep particularly well but that was because i was in a single bed and im used to a King size and a feather pillow at home, otherwise it was a clean and comfortable room, Food was great ....i look forward to returning again....hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donkeys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Have stayed several times at The Woodlands and would like to say,after my most recent visit over the Bank Holiday, that the new owners Dan and Megan have made a terrific difference - the hotel is more welcoming, cleaner, brighter than ever before and the new beds are so comfortable! The food is fantastic as always - it was great to see Frank was still in the kitchen! Love coming down and am already looking forward to my next visit.

Pam J

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
958 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Address: Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £111 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Woodlands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing