We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our first visit to Sidmouth, and staying at The Woodlands Hotel made it memorable.
We were welcomed by Chip...the dog (Joke) Sorry by Dan and what a warm welcome we got.
I cannot add more than what has already been said. Lovely Hotel, and short walk away from the town etc, Great Hosts Dan & Megan, helpful staff. Breakfasts very good, as was evening meal when we had it. Room was comfortable so it ticked all the boxes.
We will be back to Sidmouth and certainly back to the Woodlands.
Husband and myself recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor and at no time where we troubled by any noise, except form the noisy seag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    104
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
99
197
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Dan and Megan combine with the rest of the family and staff to make this Hotel so welcoming and relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is clean and bright with lots of character. The new patio is a quiet and relaxing place to have pre dinner drinks, post dinner coffee or to just sit and relax.
The rooms are well decorated and appointed with very comfortable beds.
The food was excellent, with full English breakfast and 3 course dinner, with 3 choices of each course.
If you are lucky enough to have Mrs Cozens Senior waiting on you at dinner, prepare yourself for an evening of entertainment!
This hotel has got so much going for it, if you are looking for the relaxing and restful holiday that Sidmouth is able to offer.

Room Tip: Room 21 has a balcony over the garden Rooms on the garden side are a little quieter than those on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Large property, friendly hosts who went out their way to enhance your stay. We did bed and breakfast, I found my full English delicious, with my wife having her favourite porridge.
We booked late so had one of the smaller rooms, but this was ideal for our needs.
The hotel has a family feel to it, and you soon feel part of the family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DickyTrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Have just returned from a three day weekend break where the new owners, Dan and Megan, were celebrating their first anniversary since taking over this character property and I can only reiterate the positive comments made in previous reviews. During their first year they have carried out extensive renovations, redecorating and fitting new carpet and beds throughout.We had a room on the first floor overlooking the garden which was quiet,spacious and spotlessly clean. The extended new patio was a great place to sit with a pre-dinner drink and we particularly enjoyed relaxing in the enormous conservatory with a coffee after our evening meal. Dan and Megan very much favour a "hands on" approach to management where their guests comfort and satisfaction is of paramount importance and consequently were very attentive to the needs of their guests. If you are thinking of visiting Sidmouth and are looking for a friendly relaxing break then look no further than the Woodlands. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmb100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was wonderful to spend the first anniversary of Dan and Megan being the wonderful new hosts and proprietors of Woodland Hotel, Sidmouth this past weekend, to see what a transformation they have made of the place and brought it bang up to date. Even though there is still a bit of work to do, this is only in a few areas. From the lovely relaxing muted colours throughout, to the comfy new beds and cleanliness of every room, this hotel was a delight to spend a weekend with our teenage girls. Dan and Megan are the perfect hosts, always there to help with advice of the local area and nothing is too much trouble for them. breakfast was delicious and the evening meals of 3 courses was great value for money and tasty!
We can't wait to return and enjoy the lovely town and surrounding area knowing we have the comfort of a good nights sleep and wonderful food for great price.

Room Tip: Any of the Superior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

A great greeting from the owner, he made us feel very welcome as he showed us to our large ground floor room while carrying our cases, beautiful large room with very comfortable bed. The food was excellent. Excellent location with a short walk through the town to the beach which is very nice. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vnash4412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Would recommend this hotel, hosts were very friendly and helpful. Position excellent for walking to the beach and into the town. Had a lovely time and would stay there again if we go back to Sidmouth, which is a delightful place !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing