We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!”
Review of Woodlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fantastic!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Having arrived at this wonderful property, we were given a very warm, family welcome. Me and my wife stayed here for two nights and would highly recommend it. The rooms were of a very high standard, as was the breakfast and evening meal. It has a fantastic location and is only a 5 minute walk from the town. We will certainly be returning and have recommended to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    111
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
102
214
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My parent have been to this hotel and asked me to say how wonderful it was. The owners made them feel very welcome and all the hotel facilities were of a high standard. An excellent base and one they will definately return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyMac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Have stayed at the Woodlands every year for past 15 years - lovely historic hotel in convenient location. New owners Dan and Megan have made HUGE improvements in the past year - don't know how they have managed to do so much! Lovely comfortable rooms, good food and a wonderful welcome - nothing too much trouble. Have already booked for next year! See you next August, Ann xx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Lovely stay, thank you for the small things about the house that creates the feel of a home. I look forward to seeing the gardens in a few years time. To do what you have acheived in 1 year is a miracle. Thank you again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Woodlands hotel has come on leaps and bounds the past year.
Dan and Megan have made this a hotel!
A place to enjoy.
A place to relax.
And definitely a place to return to.
And the staff are amazing to.
Well done guys. Well done.
All the best Ray. XxX

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was our first visit to Sidmouth, and staying at The Woodlands Hotel made it memorable.
We were welcomed by Chip...the dog (Joke) Sorry by Dan and what a warm welcome we got.
I cannot add more than what has already been said. Lovely Hotel, and short walk away from the town etc, Great Hosts Dan & Megan, helpful staff. Breakfasts very good, as was evening meal when we had it. Room was comfortable so it ticked all the boxes.
We will be back to Sidmouth and certainly back to the Woodlands.
Husband and myself recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 1st floor and at no time where we troubled by any noise, except form the noisy seag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Dan and Megan combine with the rest of the family and staff to make this Hotel so welcoming and relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is clean and bright with lots of character. The new patio is a quiet and relaxing place to have pre dinner drinks, post dinner coffee or to just sit and relax.
The rooms are well decorated and appointed with very comfortable beds.
The food was excellent, with full English breakfast and 3 course dinner, with 3 choices of each course.
If you are lucky enough to have Mrs Cozens Senior waiting on you at dinner, prepare yourself for an evening of entertainment!
This hotel has got so much going for it, if you are looking for the relaxing and restful holiday that Sidmouth is able to offer.

Room Tip: Room 21 has a balcony over the garden Rooms on the garden side are a little quieter than those on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickP001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#6 of 13 in Sidmouth
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
429 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Hotel

Property: Woodlands Hotel
Address: Station Road, Sidmouth EX10 8HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodlands Hotel is an eighteen bedroom hotel steeped in history, set in a peaceful, private garden in the seaside town of Sidmouth. The hotel is just a few minutes easy walk from both the town centre, with its traditional shops, and the seafront; yet enjoys a tranquil garden with a stream running through.The hotel has free wifi, new flat screen TV's and has been recently renovated with new carpets and beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing