We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Bloaters

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bloaters
Ranked #46 of 80 Restaurants in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
east devon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This has got to be the best fish and chips I have had for years, great service, great food and very good value. so glad the queue didn't put me off ! very much worth the wait, excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lexcatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    13
    2
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Had takeaway with the folks, chicken and chips, cooked to perfection and a good size portion. Never disappointed, often people are queuing out the door. If your in the area, give it a try, you can thank me later!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank HatfieldBandit08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Praise the Lord I'm not local ...”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place restores my faith when discussing fish and chips as it's an absolute joy compared to some other places I could name fairly locally. Very fresh, decent portions and great value for money. Good job it's about 8 miles from where I live or I'd be around there more often ... which wouldn't do my waist much good, so it's a treat to look forward to now and again when I'm passing through Sidmouth!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mickheneghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Look for the queue”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

One of the best measures for a chip shop is is there a queue.
On most visits I've had to wait. It's worth it.
Good sized portions normally fresh and hot.
Cod bites - small battered cod an ideal family meal large or small. Excellent value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bloaters by name...”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Brilliant fish and chips from this very busy, friendly and clean establishment. Good value for money but be prepared to queue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CasperEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bloaters also viewed

 
Sidmouth, Devon
 

Been to Bloaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing