We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another donkey week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Groveside Guest House
Ranked #10 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Once again, this has been such an enjoyable place to stay. Every year there is something different and this year is no exception. Guests now can enjoy a summerhouse in a lovely quiet garden. The food is nothing short of delicious with everything bought locally and always fresh and beautifully served. Thank you, Lin and Alan once again for making our holiday another year to remember - will be back next year for sure.

Room Tip: I have had several different rooms over the years and it would be difficult to find a fault with any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linedancer2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulsetahi, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Well what a wonderful week you all had, hope you enjoyed the cream teas in the garden Val, I wonder what next year will bring. It is such a pleasure to have you as a guest, and I also count the weeks to next May we really enjoy having you and your friends stay with us, it makes for a fun week!
Glad you got home safe and can you email me your new email address I have some lovely photos to send you

Best wishes
Lin and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2013

This was my third visit to the Groveside and I am already looking forward to returning next May.
Lin and Alan give you such a warm welcome....it is like home from home, only much better (very clean and tidy). After a long drive, we were served scones with jam and cream and a pot of tea in the garden which was full of colourful plants and flowers, ....a real gem. There is also a delightful summerhouse for guests to use with table, chairs, lighting, heater, music etc. My room was on the top floor, it was tastefully furnished, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast each morning is always a highlight of my stay. I'm used to having a cup of tea and a piece of toast before going to work, but here you are thoroughly spoilt. Fresh fruit salad, cereals, yoghurt, porridge, full English breakfast, fruit juices, tea, coffee and toast. It really sets you up for the day.
Just two minutes walk away is a beautiful river/brook which is perfect for a pre breakfast or anytime stroll. The sound of birds singing, bluebells, white flowers ( wild garlic I think) and a babbling brook was the perfect start for me each day before breakfast.
I totally recommend the Groveside guest house, it's excellent value for money, lovely owners,and I've already booked my room for next year. What more can I say!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulsetahi, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Hello Jackie and thank you very much for your kind review, it was a great pleasure hosting your party and we look forward to seeing you again in 50 weeks time!, the week passed so quickly but it was good that the weather was a little kinder this year than last. It was lovely meeting your parents and so glad they enjoyed themselves and we also enjoyed his jokes!! especially Alan who has the same sense of humour. So pleased also that you were able to use the garden. Looking forward to you returning
Lin and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This has been our second stay at the Groveside and we will definitely be returning! We called up the night before to see if they had a room available and were luckily accommodated. We were met by Alan who made us feel so welcome and explained a few things about the guest house and breakfast. There is a white board situated in the reception where guests can amend there breakfast requirements which is such a thoughtful touch. We were shown to our room which was perfect. Great shower, TV and double bed. Breakfast was fantastic and very generously proportioned. Even the beans were served in a separate pot which is great as no one likes soggy toast :) Great touch! We have stayed in two different rooms on both visits and love the fact that both are individually decorated with personal touches - really homely. 2 major benefits are off street parking and a 2 minute walk into the town. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: Double on the rear/side of building - quiet and great shower. Double on the front - great view with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malmontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulsetahi, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

And you would both be made most welcome, we were pleased we could accommodate you and hopefully next time you can sample yet another room! Thank you for being such pleasant guests and thank you for taking the time to pin a few words on Trip advisor very much appreciated
Hope you had a pleasant journey home and that the weather wasn't too unkind. Sidmouth is bathed in sunshine at the moment!!
Best wishes
lin and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful welcome . Car parking. Very clean, lovely decor.
As soon as we walked in we were greeted with a warm friendly owner. Explained about breakfast etc. Shown to our room which was beautiful so clean and tidy to a high standard. Situated 10 minutes walk from sea front amenities close by. Lovely breakfast .
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rache196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulsetahi, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

How pleasant to receive this review first thing this morning thank you for taking the time and trouble to do this. We are pleased you found everything to your liking and would warmly welcome you again to the Groveside. Sidmouth is such a lovely place to visit and this weather brings out the best of what it has to offer. The Jurassic coast is even more beautiful when the sun shines!
Thank you again and hope to see you soon
Lin and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A warm welcome with a cup of tea and biscuits in the comfortable guest lounge. My friend and I had a well furnished, nicely decorated, en-suite bedroom each, with very comfortable beds. It was rounded off with a top notch breakfast and all at a very competitive prices. Difficult to beat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeicestershireYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulsetahi, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind remarks. We are pleased to say that the guest garden is now finished and hope that you will enjoy using it on a return visit. If you go to our website and look for guest garden you will see current photographs Hope you had a good journey home
Lin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyable couple of days despite a chilly wind. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Alan and Lyn together with coffee and cakes. The English breakfasts were the best ever. Location was convenient, just a short walk to the town and we liked the private parking.All this and a comfy bed too.
We thoroughly recommend this guesthouse and we plan to come again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheila497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulsetahi, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you Sheila for your lovely review and also thank you for recommending us to your friends who are already booked in! It was a pleasure meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again at the Groveside. Its been lovely here for the past few days and we have managed to get quite a bit of the garden done but alas it rains today which has brought things to a bit of a halt. Hope you have a good summer and your journey home was a pleasant one.
Best wishes
Lin and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here for two nights and loved the Groveside and the hospitality from the owners.
We were welcomed with a log fire, coffee and freshly baked cake.
The house was impeccably clean and well kept, you can tell that they take pride in running the guest house. The bed was very comfy and we could have slept for hours were it not for the delicious breakfast waiting for us downstairs - Alan offered to cook us practically anything we liked and though we chose not to have the full English, we could have done. Instead we went for fresh fruit, eggs and homemade porridge which was great. The owners could not do enough to make sure that guests enjoy their stay - even washing and tumble drying my clothes for me after I took an unfortunate fall in the mud at the nearby donkey sanctuary...!
The location itself was handy because we could park at the property then walk down to the sea or around Sidmouth itself, as well as driving to towns nearby like Beer. Very picturesque.
Thanks for such a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Solstafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gulsetahi, Owner at The Groveside Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

And what a fall you had! but glad there were no bones broken and you were able to enjoy the time you had left in Sidmouth. Thank you for your kind comments about our guest house and the breakfasts. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope that when you return to this beautiful part of the country that the sun will shine. We have replaced our old summer house with a brand new one where you can sit and have breakfast al fresco. which should be a unique experience as well!! Hope you had an uneventful trip home and look forward to you returning. Have a good summer
Lin and Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
205 reviews
0 mi away
Lynstead House
Lynstead House
#1 of 33 in Sidmouth
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Buckley Farmhouse
Buckley Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Sidbury
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groveside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groveside Guest House

Address: Vicarage Road, Sidmouth EX10 8UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: £63 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Groveside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA rated 4 Gold Star. The Groveside, a charming Edwardian Guest house, provides quality bed and breakfast accommodation within a few minutes level walk from the Regency town centre of Sidmouth and the intriguing views of the Jurassic coastline. A Guest house with a Contemporary charm etched with a traditional twist, the Groveside is all about comfort and flair combining attention to detail with a professional service; Alan and Lin are very proud of the restful, friendly atmosphere; Guests have access to their rooms at all times and we offer a comfortable elegant lounge in which to relax, peruse the morning paper, chat with friends, read a book or even have a little nod in front of the warming fire after a days activity exploring the wonderful coastline of Sidmouth, Devon. Our modern and spacious dining room is the setting for a leisurely traditional breakfast and the recently introduced soup and sandwich suppers. All our food is bought locally and combines the promise of organic, fair trade and fresh ingredients. Our breakfast are there to set you up for the day and we cater for most dietary needs including vegetarian/vegan, dairy free and non wheat. Our aim at the Groveside is to make your stay with us as comfortable and relaxing as possible. Last year saw the introduction of our guest garden and a BBQ is available for you to use for you and your friends. This year we refurbished our single room and upgraded other rooms with beds and linen. We have also introduced the ONO bag plus the use of dressing gowns and slippers. Ladies are given a personal welcome pack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Groveside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Groveside Guest House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing