We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Visited loads when I was a child

Always loved going here with my parents when I was little, am glad to see it's still going and that... read more

Reviewed yesterday
cococlobo
via mobile
Wonderful

What a wonderful sanctuary this is now. Last visited 15 yrs ago and how it has changed. A beautiful... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
direalale
,
derby
via mobile
Read all 2,895 reviews
  
Reviews (2,895)
Filter reviews
2,895 results
Traveller rating
2,315
439
97
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,315
439
97
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free entry gift shop lovely donkeys building work lovely place love donkeys adopted donkey free attraction all ages poitou donkeys few hours lovely visit the barn walk around couple of hours cake cream tea
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 2,895 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The Donkey Sanctuary is a very well laid out facility with plenty to see. You can see the staff look after the animals needs and discuss the background of the donkeys, where they came from and the condition many of them were in when they arrived..There are picnic facilities and a good cafe. And it is FREE.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 211wanderer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Found this sanctuary really peaceful and beautifully kept. Saw lots of donkeys and they looked very healthy and content. Site is huge with plenty of fields for the donkeys to graze. Coffee shop was no more expensive than any other we have visited and staff were friendly. So impressed with the set up here that we will be adopting two donkeys - keep up the good work.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Madtabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

What a lovely place! Very surprised at the professional layout and investment - it is a lovely visitor attraction. We walked all around with our 2 labs and could take them just about everywhere. Had delicious cream tea on the veranda overlooking fields of donkeys - heaven!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank britgirl964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We made a short visit and were quickly impressed by the care taken of these beautiful animals.
The environment was in excellent condition and so peaceful .
We would have loved more time to visit the cafe, but we did buy gifts from the stunning shop.
We hope to return when next in the area.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

We visited the Donkey Sanctuary on a Saturday whilst seeing family in Devon. Great day out! Couldn’t recommend more. The sanctuary is dog friendly which is a massive plus. The place is huge - what we thought would be a an hour or so visit turned into a day of walking and enjoying the beautiful fields and gorgeous donkeys. We stopped and treated ourselves to a slice of cake (the cream to cake ratio was out of this world, well done!). With two vegan eaters in tow, the cafe had a vegan offering which was very accommodating and meant everyone could enjoy. A must if you’re in Devon!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank BigFatPigs69_420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews