We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
well worth the visit

I had recently adopted 2 Donkeys one was a gift to my husband. Its a good day out there and a nice... read more

Reviewed yesterday
chrismouse
,
chrismouse
Simple and beautiful place, and has the best coffee in the area!

Free entry, beautiful countryside and donkeys. Although, not always as many as you’d expect on... read more

Reviewed yesterday
stephenbM1372HP
,
United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 2,926 reviews
  
Reviews (2,926)
Filter reviews
2,926 results
Traveller rating
2,342
440
100
26
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,342
440
100
26
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free entry gift shop lovely donkeys building work lovely place love donkeys adopted donkey free attraction all ages poitou donkeys few hours lovely visit the barn walk around couple of hours cake cream tea
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 2,926 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2018

I visited The Donkey Sanctuary on my own but it is a great day out for all the family, even when it is raining as it was when I visited, there are informative things to do / look at indoors, as well as the café for a drink and a bite to eat.

Well worth a visit

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JoSt-Basingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

The Donkey Sanctuary is a very well laid out facility with plenty to see. You can see the staff look after the animals needs and discuss the background of the donkeys, where they came from and the condition many of them were in when they arrived..There are picnic facilities and a good cafe. And it is FREE.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank 211wanderer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Found this sanctuary really peaceful and beautifully kept. Saw lots of donkeys and they looked very healthy and content. Site is huge with plenty of fields for the donkeys to graze. Coffee shop was no more expensive than any other we have visited and staff were friendly. So impressed with the set up here that we will be adopting two donkeys - keep up the good work.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Madtabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

What a lovely place! Very surprised at the professional layout and investment - it is a lovely visitor attraction. We walked all around with our 2 labs and could take them just about everywhere. Had delicious cream tea on the veranda overlooking fields of donkeys - heaven!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank britgirl964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We made a short visit and were quickly impressed by the care taken of these beautiful animals.
The environment was in excellent condition and so peaceful .
We would have loved more time to visit the cafe, but we did buy gifts from the stunning shop.
We hope to return when next in the area.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews