We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southcombe Guest House
Ranked #24 of 33 Sidmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 January 2013

we have been visiting Sidmouth for many years and stayed at various guest houses and can honestly say this was the best and would return without a doubt , The owners ,Jackie and Graham are friendly ,cheerful and were very helpful to our needs.
The Guest house is very clean , the beds are comfortable and dressed with crisp white linen.Our ensuite was modern and the shower was lovely and hot .The breakfast was very tasty too.
Even in the middle of winter the gardens looked beautiful and would love to return in the summer to see it at its best.
The situation of the guest house is very close to Sidmouth town and could be easily walked .
We would recommend this guest house to all our friends .
I

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at southcombe on a four day special offer.the rooms although small were very comfortable.Jackies meals were excellent and Grahams hospitality was second to none.a most enjoyable stay,would highly recommend this hotel.
Jan,Brian.glen and Chris

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenchris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We only stayed here for 1 night, but hearing what was being offered for evening meal the next day we wished we were staying longer. This guest house is only a short walk from the town along the footpath, but Graham suggested we turned right out of the house and within minutes we were walking through the park, alongside the River Sid down to the sea front. Our bedroom was a good size, with a window overlooking the large garden, and a new ensuite. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was good. The garden is large, with a decked area overlooking the garden, the garden path leads down to the River Sid.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trish1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

My husband and I visited a couple of years ago, but only could stay one night. This time we were able to stay for 4 nights. Weather was extremely warm so we were able to enjoy their lovely garden, especially as now they have added the decking at top of garden. Our bedroom overlooked the garden so lovely to look out on every day. Graham and Jackie are great hosts, and make you feel so welcome, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is good and very entertaining as Jackie always has some titbit of knowledge she has acquired (too much surfing on the net my husband says). The situation of Southcombe Guest House is so convenient, near town. buses. theatre. cinema, putting green, croquet and cricket, as well as the sea. Also the added advantage of car parking facilities at Southcombe. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Not always possible but would certainly recommend garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evieWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

we really enjoyed our stay Graham and Jacky made us so welcome very clean and tidy rooms very well kept no negatives at all. They are very good hosts always got time to help and talk to you. made meal time a pleasure with the laugh we had great place to stay will return soon thanks again.
M Graves and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Friendly hosts, never less than spotless, comfortable room, good food. Nothing more needed

Room Tip: Rooms at the back avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sosew62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Chose Southcombe for a weeks' stay during Donkey Week at the Sidmouth Donkey Sanctuary (8th-15th May) because it was so central, and so glad we did! What a lovely welcome we had..felt comfortable from the minute we arrived. Our room was so fresh and spotlessly clean and can't remember when I've slept in a more comfortable bed..it was heaven after our very full days. Breakfast was excellent... nothing was too much trouble for Jackie, and the entertainment (Graham!) was second to none! Only sorry we didn't get to make use of the beautiful garden due partly to a few rainy days and partly to a full itinery. Ten minutes from the seafront, and even less to the local unique shops...and the lovely 'Byes' right at the bottom of the garden. All in all a very enjoyable stay...only one complaint..that we couldn't stay longer!..Thankyou Jackie and Graham, hope we'll be back one day.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a bit of traffic noise if you like the windows open, but this didn't last late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0 mi away
Cheriton Guest House
Cheriton Guest House
#7 of 33 in Sidmouth
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidholme Hotel
Sidholme Hotel
#22 of 33 in Sidmouth
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Berwick House
Berwick House
#2 of 33 in Sidmouth
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sid Valley Country Hotel
0.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
998 reviews
2 mi away
Buckley Farmhouse
Buckley Farmhouse
#1 of 4 in Sidbury
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcombe Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcombe Guest House

Address: St. Elmo Vicarage Road, Sidmouth EX10 8UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sidmouth
Price Range: £77 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southcombe Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Southcombe Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcombe Guest House Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing