We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very decadent afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
east anglia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A very decadent afternoon tea”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My daughter bought a gift voucher for my husband's birthday treating him
to an afternoon tea. We were very pleasantly surprised by the amount of food, sandwiches, devon scones with lots of fresh clotted cream and jam, fruit cake, choux pastry buns filled with cream, large pot of tea. The quality of the food served was exceptional. The staff were very pleasant and helpful (they smiled too). It was a wonderful afternoon sitting in the lounge area overlooking the beautiful gardens and watching the sea change colour. We were so impressed we intend to go back for coffee and cake in the morning or afternoon tea. Many thanks to the staff who made this a very pleasant experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastangliantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, 15 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate all feedback and are constantly evaluating, learning and improving as a result.

It was really lovely to hear that you both enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and i hope your husband enjoyed his special day.We certainly look forward to welcoming you both back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    297
    159
    69
    22
See reviews for
124
503
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
west country
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stopped here for one night on our way back home from South Devon.Our room was well appointed with a balcony and lovely views to the promenade across the hotel's swimming pool.The staff were extremely pleasant throughout our stay and they should be congratulated.Looking at some of the other reviews I wondered whether we had been staying in the same hotel.The lounge area is well appointed with a bar and the dining room too has widespread views of the coastline.The waiting staff were attentive and efficient here.Yes, the car park did get busy but the public car park is a stone's throw across the road.Also single yellow line parking outside for evenings and weekends.So if there is no room in the hotel car park ,any people with limited mobility could be dropped off right outside the 'front' door and then the car parked in either of these alternatives.Not a problem.My only negative point would be that the hotel was a tad too warm-more ventilation needed perhaps in some areas.Used the pool for a bracing swim which was a perfect start to our stay.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCountryPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

When we arrived we had a warm welcome. Reception, lounge and bar areas looked all newly refurbished. Our room was tastfully decorated with a lovely seaview and balcony. Staff were very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The hotel is a prime location with lovely views over the sea. Ideal for a relaxing break. We recommend to others and we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach73_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Arrived at the Westcliff ( Sidmouth Harbour) Hotel prior to the 3.00 pm book in ( at 2.45) to find no space in the gravel car park which had no markings .To make matters worse the entrace to the Hotel reception lobby was blocked by a parked car.The car park was full most of the week and on occasion we had to park in the park and ride car park opposite(Dad is disabled so the was not ideal) the hotel.
On entering the hotel things looked up .A nice ground floor with reception area,restruant bar and sea views.
the TV lounge is far too small (seats 4) and had packing crates stored in it .The wide screen TV was on the floor out of use and had been replace what looked like an old portable I had back in the 70's.
No digital satelite or channels.
The Lift was far too small (and stops with a very large jolt) for our group of 4 .
The Rooms( we had 2,a feature balcony, 1 twin and 1 double with sea view) while of a reasonable size were tired as were the bath rooms and require updating.
The double room has a 4 '6" bed ,we would like at least 5'.
The service at the bar was some times none existant,(10.20pm on a Friday night) with several people waiting the receptionist had to find somebody to serve (15min wait.)
Dogs Are allowed in the rooms ,one of which under ours barked as its owners left it in the room all the time .
While eating dinner one evening looking out over the small golf area at the very nice sea view we were treated to a 2 dogs being walked over the golf area peeing and the one did a **** in full view while we were eating and the owner (one of the Westcliff geust did not remove it!!)
Food was very good but evening menu was limited.
Staff were very good in all areas and the service was also very good .
Overall a nice holiday, out and about in Devon but let down by what should be a much better Hotel for the price,we spoke to the management about the dog issue but nothing was done ,we did not use the golf after seeing the dogs on the green.
Some entertainment in thhe evenings would be nice ( conaught gardens across the road from the hotel,Jacobs lader and the brass bands on a Tuesdays and Sundays ,and Pecorama at Beer) are all worth a visit,the Hotel pointed none of these out to us.
there is a Pub on the sea front for those wanting digital TV (football etc)
Would We go back?
Sidmouth and the surounding area is worth another visit,but I would stay in the Victoria next door unless some of the issues are sorted out in the Westcliffe.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormbringer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate all feedback and are constantly evaluating, learning and improving as a result. The hotel has been undergoing a refurbishement programme on the ground floor areas, with new curtains,sofas and tables being replaced which has unfortunately affected your stay. I am pleased to say that the hotel ground floor areas are now looking beautiful with further decoration and refurbisment of some of the bedrooms taking taking place later in the year. I sincerely apologise for the fact that we spoilt your stay and for the fact that you were unable to park due to the car park being full. We glady would have reimbursed you for any car parking charges. I would like to reassure you that we will be assessing all of the points raised in your review. I do hope that you will return to the hotel in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at the Westcliffe for only 1 night and wished it had been longer, we had a lovely room on the first floor with balcony and a view of the sea and whole of the promenade. The room was not the largest but perfectly comfortable, nice modern bathroom a bit on the small side but adequate, all very clean. Bar prices are very high so beware - best to go out for a drink. Breakfast was fine, I only wanted egg and bacon from the list available and was a bit dissapointed when 1 rasher arrived looking a bit lonely but maybe I should have asked for 2! Didnt use the hotel for dinner so cant comment! Would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for refubished sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken C, General Manager at Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel on this site, we appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Could be the best hotel in Sidmouth, but needs modernising, and more of a consistent managerial presence.
Fantastic position, wonderful views, and quiet, as situated just above the town.
Great food, and lovely staff that really tried hard to be friendly and polite.
Difficult job for them in a hotel that is really dated, and needs major re-investment.
The carpets are stained and there is a stale smell in most public rooms.
The bedroom was a good size but needed a good spring clean. The bathroom was very basic and smelt of drains, the toilet seat did not fit the toilet bowl. . The paintwork in the bedroom was a dreary peach colour and the curtains depressing. Cushions had stains on them. The kettle had burnt out and was full of black flakes of metal. A new kettle was however brought fairly quickly. All the staff were really nice, kind polite and helpful. We would definitely stay there again but only in one of the few renovated rooms. I just felt ours (15) was a bit grubby, due to age mainly, but otherwise it was comfortable and had everything one needed. The balcony and view was wonderful. There is a good sized car park, and only 5-10 minute walk to restaurants etc. but the food in the hotel was excellent.
My advice: a coat of white paint, replace the carpets and curtains and (cushions!), and it would be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a modernised room with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesaurus23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed with friends while walking the South West Coast Path. Location of the Hotel is perfect. Quiet,relaxing atmosphere,good food,comfortable rooms. Ate dinner looking out over the coast - beautiful. Had great weather too - did the Hotel arrange that ????

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hunters Moon Hotel
Hunters Moon Hotel
#5 of 13 in Sidmouth
184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Property: Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 60 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury Harbour Spa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing