We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four fabulous visits” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Horndean, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Four fabulous visits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have stayed at the West cliff for four years now with my parents. We stay for a week each year and have always had a very good experience. The views, rooms, breakfast and dinner could not be better. All the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way the ensure that your stay is enjoyable. We always book the sea view rooms which I believe have been upgraded and waking up with the beautiful view is worth the extra. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    276
    134
    60
    20
See reviews for
103
452
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had Sunday lunch here. Drinks in the lounge first, then into the restaurant for lunch with a view over the bay to the cliffs. The three course meal was excellent and included coffee in the lounge afterwards. The was a great choice of starters, main course and desserts.
The staff were friendly and courteous. A thoroughly enjoyable experience. We will definitely go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwick
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This hotel was just a few minutes walk uphill out from the front. The views from the hotel were great. There was plenty of parking! The common areas were lovely but our room was at the back overlooking building work that was going on. The shower was a drizzle, not good at all. Quite old fashoined but very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice.

Room Tip: Ask if you could have a room that does NOT overlook the building work going on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suehillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st ives
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the Harbour hotel on the May bank holiday weekend, we had a lovely time, we had a refurbished room, Fantastic sea views, the balcony wasn't too good but we weren't in long enough to use it,
The staff where very friendly and helpful ,
The food was good, and the Breakfast was excellent, this hotel is under refurbishment and will be as good as it's other Hotels,
A big thank you to the receptionist from Cheshire lovely lady and a credit to the Hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willis28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Visited the Sidmouth Harbour Hotel for Sunday Lunch. The meal was 3 course with coffee for £19.50p. This is exceptionally good value as the food was 1st class and the service excellent. The surroundings are also special with views from the restaurant and lounge out over the sea. If you want a special place to go for lunch or dinner this is the place to go. Make sure you book as it can be busy at times and you don't wanted to be disappointed!. We cant wait to go there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRos335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked a double/twin room. We did not asked when room was last refurbished, a major mistake!! The room was old, scruffy, smelly, small and much too warm and the tv is the size of a postcard. The remote is almost as big as the tv itself. Window could only be opened a few inches. Bathroom was terrible old with carpet on the floor, HOW UNHYGIENIC, especially in a hotel frequented mainly by old people. Not able to change rooms because of occupancy (or at least that was the excuse). No internet or wifi in the room. It is unbelievable that the hotel is still renting out these type of rooms while advertising with refurbished rooms on the internet, It is a total rip off. Stay away from this establishment.Rooms in Premier Inn are better value.
Only positive point : all the foreign staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Avoid all non refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paaltjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Thank you to the staff, especially the receptionist, for a lovely stay. We made a last minute booking for one night to celebrate my husband's birthday. Although there were no sea view rooms available we were given the Harbour Suite which is an exceedingly large "room". It was very clean and comfortable and the birthday card and chocolates for my husband were much appreciated. We ate in the restaurant, the waiter was excellent, the food was very nice and was accompanied by a free bottle of wine . The views from the restaurant are lovely and the bar area is very comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Our stay was very enjoyable, with personal touches and attentive, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 734chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.4 mi away
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff

Property: Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 60 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury Harbour Spa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing