We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement home with food to match?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed there early May and paid extra for a sea view. We were given a small room- not war renting paying anything extra. Very disappointing food.i
Hotel has good location. Bar lacked ambiance, as did the restaurant.

Room Tip: Don't go there
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birthdaygirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
There are newer reviews for Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel very nicely decorated and room was excellent .The location is also perfect and the service was exceptional.Unforfortunately the food which was OK could have been so much better and presented more attractively particularly the sea food platter at lunch time.
Also I have stayed at hotels all round the world and have never been charged £2.50 for payment by credit card before.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

and the food served in the restaurant was fab - a request for gluten meal was easier catered for - it was no problem at all. The staff are always wonderful, friendly and helpful - this place is a real gem although its a shame the new redecorated rooms are so dear

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GilliCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Having not been overly impressed with the Westcliffe on our last visit three years ago we prepared to give the hotel another chance now that the 'Sea Harbour' group have carried out many of their promised improvements. This time we took our daughter and 16 month old granddaughter with us to judge how the hotel and the clientele would cope.
Result....overall, very impressed! The hotel has made great efforts to become more family friendly although it still leans towards an older intake. Our granddaughter was extremely well catered for, an early start to dinner at 6.30 was appreciated and she coped well although this was considerably past her usual tea time. The hotel provided a lovely high chair with its own large flat area and she loved the food, eating small portions off the main menu.
The staff are uniformly very friendly and accommodating, courses were served at just the right speed at dinner and we were always asked if we were ready to continue. The food is very good, but perhaps errs slightly to the safe, again to cater for the majority. I was particularly impressed with Adam and Alison who went out of their way to make sure everything was as it should be.
Rooms have generally been extensively modernised and refurbished as have the bathrooms, you could not find anything to really pick fault with. The new wing of the hotel is still under construction but behind schedule due to a change of builders, but when finished will add considerably to the capacity of the hotel. The work did not disturb us in the slightest.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Renovated rooms on second floor with sea view are fabulous
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a lovely overnight here with our Golden Retriever. We were all made very welcome. Our room had immediate access to the outside for the dog, which was very handy. The room was slightly tired, but given the views and convenience we were more than happy. There is a lot of work going on at the moment, but nothing intrusive on our stay. Should be finished by September, when we will be returning to see the difference. The 4 course evening meal was very good from the set menu. Our only complaint was that the room seemed to be quite warm and dry through the night, but we still had a very comfortable sleep. As I said we will be back again at a later date.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have stunning views up and down the coast.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at this hotel on a dinner, bed and breakfast arrangement over the May bank holiday weekend. Our room was in the original part of the hotel; a lovely massive room with a (sideways) view of the sea, across the gardens. It was lovely to have a room of these proportions, high ceilings, lots of room to spread yourselves out - rather than the typical hotel room which doesn't have room to swing a cat in. The double bed was enormous - 6ft wide - and extremely comfortable. There were two chairs and a small table by the big window, and a small sofa on the other side of the room. The built in wardrobe was bigger than the one we have at home. Of particular note was the bathroom - very modern and clean. It comprised a walk-through room with a large vanity basin (lots of surface space for toiletries and good lighting) leading into the bathroom proper which had a toilet, bath (with shower above) and then a very large separate shower cubicle. Very efficient and plenty of hot water.
The public rooms in the hotel were quite open plan, so felt spacious, all very tastefully decorated in creams and blues. Lots of full size windows onto the garden with views of the sea beyond. The stairs up to the bedrooms were equally well decorated but then it got a bit tatty as you went around the corridors to the bedrooms. We had to pass through an area which looked more like a staff corridor.
All the staff were helpful, but had a habit of disappearing when you wanted them - the reception wasn't continuously manned - but when the girl arrived she was extremely helpful and welcoming. Same for the bar. Throughout the evening we watched various guests stand around at the bar waiting for staff and then give up and go away. Bit of a shame.
The dining room is pretty formal, and the service was excellent. The food was reasonable but not exceptional and had it not been included in our rate, we would probably have chosen to eat elsewhere as the prices on the menu were a bit steep. The cooked breakfast, however, was extremely good and not a drop of grease on the plate!
We got the feeling that this is a place frequented by mature people, same for Sidmouth in general. However, for a short stay it is absolutely delightful and we would happily return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 as described in detail above. Facing east so lovely morning sun and great views...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank valentinedine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have stayed at the West cliff for four years now with my parents. We stay for a week each year and have always had a very good experience. The views, rooms, breakfast and dinner could not be better. All the staff are extremely helpful and go out of their way the ensure that your stay is enjoyable. We always book the sea view rooms which I believe have been upgraded and waking up with the beautiful view is worth the extra. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
932 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T

Address: Manor Road, Sidmouth EX10 8RU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#12 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £112 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel boasts a prime position on the East Devon coast with spectacular views over Lyme Bay and the Jurassic Coastline. An abundance of coastal walks are right on the hotel's doorstep including the unique Jurassic Coast paths as well as numerous beach strolls and Sidmouth's charming boutique shops and art galleries. The hotel features 57 bedrooms, many with beautiful sea views. The interconnecting new Courtyard bedrooms are perfect for families. All rooms feature ensuite bathrooms, tea and coffee making facilities and luxury toiletries. Relax in the hotel's new luxury Harbour Spa, which is home to five treatment rooms, fitness suite, indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool, sauna and steam room. Dine in the Upper Deck Restaurant with floor to ceiling glass so you can take in the panoramic coastal views, leading out onto a new terrace perfect for alfresco dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel Sidmouth
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing