We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown away!”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
CHELTENHAM
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Blown away!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We visited on the two nights of the storms & severe gales hence the title!
The usual excellent standard of service & food that we have come to expect from a brend hotel.
We are in our early fifties but felt mere youngsters compared to the rest of the residents . This did not distract from our stay , just pointing it out in case you have a young family. If so their sister hotel the Victoria would be better suited. We had a standard room & were a little concerned of what to expect but need not have worried. It was a spacious room with views over the cricket ground -clean comfortable & the most enormous bed I think we have ever slept in ! (room 305).
All in all a lovely break ,lovely hotel . We will go again.

Room Tip: We had a peak in room 301. Beautiful room with double aspect views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SALW217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    101
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
84
331
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed here a year ago and liked it so much resolved to return as soon as we could. We were not disappointed. The hotel is comfortable and maintains a very high standard of service under a strong management. The food in the restaurant is reasonable, if a little unexciting, but seems to suit the average demographic (over 70) of the clientele. Suggestion: the chef could improve the quality of the roast potatoes.

An enjoyable stay (despite the appalling weather) and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petite100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

we have just come back from the belmont lovely hotel staff brillent but food does not warrent its high price I And should,nt think a lot is actually made fresh on the property we had fried bread for breakfast and i think it was was just dipped in fat yuk!!! and no entertaiment only a paino in the dining room for an hour It should have been in the lounge not all bad then but not worth the price .

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zambezi132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A lovely hotel in an ideal setting with beautiful views of the English Channel. The hospitality and service was old english at its best albeit that a lot of the staff were young and from continental europe who enhanced the whole ambiance of the place. Food was again very traditionally english but superbly prepared and presented. If you want a bit of the best of old England this is must be one to note.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cuffley
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for touring East Devon. Its part of the Brend group of hotels based only in Devon and Cornwall. Its staff are so helpful and friendly - threy all go the extra mile to help all guests. Accomoadtion is lovely, the presonal touches of bed being turned down, chocolates by the side of the bed. Nice toiletries and flannels in all bathrooms.Food is excellent a six course meal , drinks not too pricey either. A definate must for so many guests - we cannot all be wrong.

Room Tip: Booking early may give you a discount. Also book early to avoid disappointment. This last visit majo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avisanddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We only booked for 4 nights which in hindsight had turned out to be to little .From the minute we entered we where treated really well nothing was to much for the staff .When entering our room we found not only a sea view but also a room of excellent furnishings.The meals where also a high standard together with a professional service . It goes to say my wife and I will be returning sooner than later

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments with regards to your recent stay with us. You can find our latest offers on our website and we hope that you will be returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I spent four nights DBB on a "Winter Tariff " offer. We asked for a sea-view room but were told they had all been taken so we settled for a garden facing room. On arrival we were given our room key and found that we had indeed been allocated a sea- view room. The bathroom was awesome with chrome grab rails for both bath and shower - a feature which is sadly lacking in most hotels and should be compulsory. The bed was comfotable and king-size and the amount of storage space in bedroom and bathroom was something we had not exprienced before. The food was plentiful varied and traditional - what we like - and was servedefficiently by frienldy waiters and waitresses. All staff were courteous and attentive. On departue we asked what type of room ours was and to our surprise we were told "Standard" What were the better quality rooms like? we wondered. we can hardly wait to go back! Fabulous hotel.

Room Tip: Talk to Reception and tell them what you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing