We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality not hostility”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This is a Hotel that prides itself on its service. From its booking process, which was smooth and efficient, through to the end of one's stay, the guest is made to feel extremely welcome. The quality and choice of food is excellent. The service in the restaurant is exemplary. You are even served whatever you want at Breakfast - no breakfast bar here. Dinner comprises five courses.
I had a very comfortable room overlooking the sea, and even though I was not occupying one of the more expensive executive rooms, I was surprised by the quality of the items provided in the bathroom, which included mouthwash, and good quality soaps and shampoos. Your bed is even turned down in the evening, and chocolates are left! There are three very comfortable lounges, and the hotel is well situated, within easy, level walking distance of this very attractive town.
This Hotel group has not forgotten the personal touch. I received an email a day before my arrival, hoping that I had a good journey.
If I was asked if there was a fault, the only one I could find, was that the heat in some of the
public rooms, and in my bedroom, seemed a bit excessive, and was difficult to control. I stayed in November, but found it necessary to leave my bedroom window open on occasions.
The only other comment I have raises a question, which I suspect lies at the heart of the hotel's
ethic. Guests come down for dinner at whatever time they choose, and retain the same table [for breakfast and dinner] throughout their stay. This provides both a sense of belonging and freedom of choice as to the time you dine. Whether overall it is the most efficient way of providing waiting service only the hotel can answer. It does mean that at times the dining room is extremely busy, and at others quiet, which must put a strain on the staff. In fairness there was only one occasion, when they seemed stretched by numbers.
These are very minor quibbles in what was an excellent five day stay. I am looking forward to my next trip to the hotel. I would recommend a stay for anyone looking for comfort and standards of service that are too often forgotten.

Room Tip: I occupied Room 209, which was a lovely double room with a fabulous sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 557 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

Have been visiting the belmont hotel now for 4 yrs and hopefully will keep on going. The staff, food, deco etc, excellent. The gen manager, Tim and all the other dep/assistant managers are all hands on. They take time to speak to all the guests and they also assist other staff around the hotel. I cannot fault them. I can fully recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can push the boat out go for a sea view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cremegavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Currently staying at this wonderful hotel in Sidmouth. Good old fashioned standards and values.

The staff are all so friendly and very professional in every aspect. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the food is sumptuous and the hotel is overlooking the sea and close to the town centre.

Everything about this hotel is top class and Sidmouth is a lovely small tranquil resort to stay at.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Belmont.

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for a De-Luxe room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonesrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Our second visit this year. What can you ay about the Belmont - a very friendly place to stay, Staff are great, rooms clean, well decorated and comfortable and the food first class. It has large comfortable lounges and fantastic location - overlooking the beach and the sea yet close to the town centre,

This is really a joy to stay at. Highly recommended for those who want a hoilday as it used to be - centered on you the Guest!

Room Tip: The Rooms on the front with the balcony are worth the extra even in the Winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

If you want great nightlife & lots of entertainment the Belmont is probably not for you. But then probably neither is Sidmouth itself.

However, if you enjoy the finer things in life, enjoy good old-fashioned service & enjoy the company of people who take things in their stride - then you'll like the Belmont. Male guests are expected to wear jacket & tie for dinner - it's that sort of place. But the ladies love that old-fashioned style and it feels perfectly natural.

The hotel is spotless and is right on the sea front & next to the cricket ground where Devon play their Minor Counties' matches. It's England from a bygone era. That's why the Belmont is full most of the year. It's a favourite with older people and that's why courtesy and manners are a priority. Personally, I love it!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tex26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The hotel is a very traditional old fashioned hotel requiring jacket and tie for dinner. It is refreshing to maintain standards in this day and age. The food is very good and there is a good choice. Compared to other Brend hotels, the food is the best of all the other hotels we have tried in the chain. However, the average age of guests in this hotel is over retirement age. The room we had was small and people moving around in the next room could be heard easily. The door to our room was opposite the lift which could be heard when used.

We have stayed before and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobandpat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here to celebrate a birthday. The hotel is a joy to stay at. The room with balcony and sea view was clean and well appointed. It even had complimentary binoculars in addition to flowers a full fruit bowl and chocolates. As vegetarians the dinner menu did not disappoint and we found the staff to be cheerful and friendly at all levels, even the car park was checked and kept clean on a regular basis. The requirement for gentleman to wear jackets and ties at dinner means that it is a dining experience to enjoy particularly enhanced by the piano playing in the background. We have every intention of returning for another holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £189 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing