We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So disappointed with our room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So disappointed with our room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were booked into this hotel for four nights - we left after the first night.

I get rather paranoid about what to expect in a room, so phone at least once following booking to clarify the size and type of room. I was assured that this was one 'of their best' rooms.

The hotel looks good and public areas and restaurant are lovely. But when we opened the door to our sea view deluxe room - well, what a let down. No way was it superior or deluxe. And we were paying enhanced rates for it. It was so small, and the fixtures and fittings were just not acceptable. It was just shabby! We discussed the matter with a manager and he admitted we had a legitimate complaint and recommended alternative rooms for a future stay.

This stay was all the more disappointing as we had just had four lovely nights in a Brend hotel in Barnstaple.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentholidays60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We always endeavour to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Belmont Hotel.

As discussed with you during your stay last year, the bedroom you were allocated was scheduled to be completely refurbished as part of our ongoing programme in the New Year.

The refurbishment of the room in question is now being completed, as well as many of our other rooms in the hotel and when finished, pictures will be posted online onto the TripAdvisor website.

We thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    93
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
82
312
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend commencing 15th February 2013 after waiting for suitable weather.
When we arrived at the hotel we were shown our room which had just been refurbished. All the fitments were stainless steel with plenty of light in the room. There was even a light over the mirror so my wife could attend to her hair.

The bathroom was also refurbished in white. There was evrything you could need but the only source of heat was a heated towel rail which meant that the bathroom was quite cold.

The restaurant was well run by the Maitre d' and the waiters who served us were most attentive. It was amazing that the dirty plates were cleared promptly after each course. Dinner consisted of a six course menu. The food was of a very high standard and on our second night we could not manage the cheese course.

On the Saturday evening a band performed in the lounge for some dancing. With two couples on the dance floor it was full. The band veered towards Country and Western music which to our modern sequence dancing was not ideal. However they were a very good band and we enjoyed their music.

On the morning of our departure the Manager asked to see us to give our opinion of the refurbished room. We could not praise the hotel highly enough.

Sidmouth town centre is a short walk from the hotel along a level promenade.

I can only praise the hotel for the food , accommodation and the geral ambiance generated by the Managers and staff.

We shall return again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

Another 6 day visit to this hotel by the sea. Our favourite waitress Errrrrrrrrrrrma has got the coveted black jacket and has been promoted to head waitress to assist Angie the manageress, who again is another asset to the hotel. It is also a joy to visit this hotel when Ronnie is on duty, he has a wicked sense of humour on the quiet, but very professional when carrying out his duties as head waiter. After dinner when retiring to the lounge for tea or coffee you are met by Xsavia and Larry (Hope the spelling is right) and Xsavia knows what you want straight away after you have been there one night, whether it is tea or coffee.
This is our 5th visit to this hotel over the years and from the moment you enter the reception to the time you leave it is so relaxing and friendly especially Tim the Gen Manager who at busy times even helps out waiting on tables and coming around to speak to all the guests.
You begin to feel that the staff have become your friends but still there is that proffesionalism all the time when you meet and greet them.
A big thankyou again to all the staff upstairs and downstairs for making our holiday so relaxing and to say that my wife and I will see you again in November.

Room Tip: We have had 4 different rooms over the years and thay have all been excellent. Tim has showed me the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cremegavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

What are you looking for in a Hotel. Is it a bland chrome and faux leather place, with staff that do not really want to be there, with bedrooms the size of a cupboard, coldish food left on a buffet, no parking or even having to pay to park, and charges for anything they can thisnk of. Then sorry the Belmont is not for you.

The moment you arrive and park your car in the large car pasrk - you are greeted by a friendly door-man and reception staff. Your room will be welcoming and beautifully decorated with comfy beds. All meals are served "silver service" style - even breakfast by staff who are friendly and happy to be looking after you. What more can you ask for - old fashioned service and courtesy as it used to be and is now very difficukt to find. Somewhere where you custom is valued - you are treated as a person and not just another number.

We like the Belmont - I am sure you will as well. Well done Tim (GM) and all the Staff at the Belmont for making our stay something special

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are great - soem of the side sea view rooms have recently been refurbished and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busyaccountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

Having stayed at nearly all of the hotels in this chain, our recent return here provided a most welcome winter break, and whilst all maintain a high standard of service, comfort and cuisine, the Belmont must be considered a favourite. Staff helpful on arrival and courteous and friendly throughout our stay. The room was comfortabe, warm and well equipped; the menu was both extensive and varied; the food was well presented and excellently served.
Apart from a slight error in dining table seating we could find no fault in the service and do not hesitate to recommend a stay here whilst we look forward to a return visit.
Sidmouth and surroundings have plenty to offer the visitor in all forms of activit,y whether leisure, entertainment or shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea views available if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

The Belmont Hotel is a clean and tidy hotel with fantastic views. The staff are friendly and efficient. Dressing for dinner adds to the sense of occasion and complements the care taken with the preparation and serving of meals. The pianist also adds that "special something". The ambiance of the hotel manages to blend the Regency atmosphere of Sidmouth with modern convenience.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best but others have interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just spent 3nights in this lovely hotel.Room was warm and beautifully decorated and furnished no expense spared.Food was amazing! Staff dedicated and very friendly.We even enjoyed putting out on the front lawn.We are looking forward to our next visit .Alan and Jenny.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolLili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for your review of The Belmont Hotel after your recent stay with us. It was most reassuring to read all of your comments, and to see that you were especially pleased with your room, our food and our staff. It is always rewarding for all the staff to read these comments.

We are happy to hear that you would like to stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Belmont Hotel in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing