We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
513 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Belmont has it in spades. Beautiful location, by the sea and in a beautiful regency town. We arrived on a damp Saturday evening to be greeted by the concierge. It's our first time at the Belmont but it won't be our last. We had drinks in the bar which was the taster for the rest of the evening. The staff were delightful. We were attending a black tie ball so it was a very elegant evening. As we made our way to our tables it was to the accompaniment of a grand piano being played in the restaurant. Service was first class, again the staff were wonderful. The food was well presented and very good. After dinner there was dancing in the lounge bar to a FAB duo. Other hotel guests happily joined our event for the dancing and it was great. Just keep doing what your doing Belmont. It's a winning recipe and you have new fans.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldstar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    101
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
84
331
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

yes, no need for the lifeboat or channel pilot for this hotel , it knows exactly its destination and the course to set to arrive at the port of excellence. from our knowledge based on over twenty years of use its an hotel that gets so much, so right, so often, then most. To add something extra to the existing reviews which is informative and or amusing to read is becoming increasingly difficult.
LOCATION, like most Brend group Hotels the location is excellent situated almost side by side with its sister hotel the Victoria and on the westerly side of Sidmouth . The hotel has ample parking for residents and is slightly elevated above the wide promenade which runs the whole length of the seafront. this in turn makes for enjoyable strolling for those slightly less able, NOT enough of a challenge for you !, well if you have the right knees etc the hills on the east side of Sidmouth are there to be conquered, follow the cliff path to the top and enjoy the spectacular views over Sidmouth and out to see. The cliff path carries on and will eventually take you to the next village a rewarding long walk for the fittest, but sadly beyond us now. Please be careful as the cliffs are very high here. For a much shorter walk, more of a stroll but slightly elevated try the walk up to the Connaught Gardens on the west side of the hotel including the Clock Tower restaurant from which you have lovely views out to sea and along the coast and the gardens when in bloom are a credit to the gardeners. but beware ! not only are the cakes absolutely delicious but large enough to be included in the Guinness book of records. Go on have one each or share with a friend. To the front of the hotel is a putting green great fun in the summer and when the sun is shining. the front of the hotel overlooks part of the promenade and directly out to sea. Hotel, on entering the Hotel one is immediately reminded that this is one of the Brend group Hotels finished ,decorated, and maintained to the same high standard, and in broadly similar style. this in turn engenders a happy feeling of returning home to a family or good friends. and partly accounts for the high number of repeat bookings. The lounges are spacious and well lit with comfortable seating, however will management please note not all your guests find it easy to arise from settees which have low seating heights being seventy rather then seventeen a point to consider when replacing The dining room is particularly attractive with high ceilings, chandeliers, comfortable dining chairs and good level of lighting without being garish. Dining room staff were excellent, being immaculately presented, without exception courteous, and adept at serving. a great credit to themselves, and the countries they came from, Hungary seemed well represented, with none of this "You Guys, No Prob, Are You Allright There," nonsense. Seemingly able to function without the need for body piercings, tattoos, and suchlike. The food during all of our stays was and has been excellent, I just love the silver service, and the skill of placing your hot hot plate in front of you without touching by hand, using spoon and fork only, In this respect the group leading hotel well done Belmont. Step forward the Chefs and take a bow, difficult to find any fault with the food, but your signature dish of roast duck was, and has always been truly superb how do you produce this as good time after time, truly the best duck in the whole group. I am slightly biased as duck is my favourite poultry. The bar area under the supervision of Stuart of many years service, (he who has never been observed walking slowly, and could probably walk around his domain with his eyes closed ) works efficiently. Bedrooms are as you would expect operate on the principle of you pays your money and takes your pick. Sea facing rooms many of which are classed as superior are probably the best,
room 108 on the first floor is spacious has two windows making it nice and light with a good sized all white bathroom. Don't discount the side or rear facing rooms which can be competitively priced and in the main of an execeptable

Room Tip: sea facing first floor or cricket field side first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank george e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Superb hotel, superb food, superb silver service, superb staff, we went this year in December to see the Christmas decorations and they were excellent, why go anywhere else! Thanks again to Irma, Angie, Ronnie, Lauren to name but a few. See you again in March.

Room Tip: all the rooms we have had over the last 5 yrs have been of excellent standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cremegavenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were with a party of friends and the lounge area was very comfy with lovely views and excellent service for tea and drinks later.
The whole hotel is very traditional and high quality. restaurant service and food were first class, the staff find the right balance between friendliness and professionalism.
Our winter break rate was good value
Our only disappointment was the bedroom which, whilst nicely furnished, was quite small with very thin walls. The man snoring in the next room woke us up ; any more athletic activity would have been quite embarrassing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have stayed here many times, and it is always a delight! Wonderful location. Excellent food, and the service is the best we have encountered.
The dinner menu usually includes a fish course, a rarity these days, and the breakfast is freshly cooked - also far from usual.

Room Tip: Its worth paying extar for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
226 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Our third visit to The Belmont in just over a year and it seems to get better and better.

The food, the service and the standard of décor, fittings and furnishings were all faultless and, again unfortunately despite some indifferent weather, we thoroughly enjoyed our four night stay. We did have a couple of nice days though so it was particularly nice to have a sea view and balcony in Room 207 to see it at its best.

All the staff are superb and perform their duties with a degree of efficiency and friendliness in just the right proportion and to a degree which I have rarely found elsewhere. Particular thanks to Daniel, our cheerful Spanish waiter, who looked after us so well.

We were surprised to find a seaside hotel quite so full towards the end of October but the fact that it was, shows just how popular it is and that highlighted our only slight criticism. The layout of the car park is not ideal with some quite cramped spaces and on more than one occasion, we returned to find it almost full. But that won't put us off and we are already looking forward to visit number four.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank demoncodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gawsworth, Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We returned a week ago from a superb holiday spent at this hotel. The room was of a high standard, but the food and service in the dining room was excellent. The staff were very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble for them, especially Adam. We just found the whole experience very relaxing, I was even treated to a massage at the Victoria Hotel next door. This was our first visit, but we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LGeewizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
840 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing