We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another superb Brend hotel”
Review of The Belmont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Belmont Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another superb Brend hotel”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having previously stayed at the 'Royal Duchy' hotel in Cornwall and had a fantastic experience of first class and superior service, my wife and I decided to try another Brend hotel.
Our choice was the Belmont, superb service from all staff, the hotel room was wonderful, the restaurant was of a very high standard, as was he food. The staff were so friendly nothing was too much trouble, the bar and lounges are beautifully furnished, quiet and relaxing so next time it's another Brend hotel, which hotel we choose will be our only problem.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review for the Belmont Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed wonderful accommodation, a dining experience that you found to be of a high standard, and some beautiful furnishings in a relaxed atmosphere.

Your kind comments regarding the service you received have been passed onto our hard-working staff members across all the departments and they were very much appreciated.

Thank you again for posting your review for The Belmont and Brend Hotels looks forward to welcoming you again to whichever hotel you decide to choose next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    98
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
84
319
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Our second stay at this hotel. We had a super time. You could not ask for a better location. Straight out of the hotel on to the prom. Beautiful grounds and views. Sidmouth is a lovely town. Just right for a weekend stay.
We are an older couple, in our mid sixties, energetic and good for a laugh. Most of the other guests were considerably older and the hotel seemed more like a care home than a smart hotel. Many guests were in need of mobility aids. Don't mean to be ageist but for a fun place to stay this hotel may not be for you.
That aside, if you want to feel well treated, silver service and a superb location than don't be put off by what is said earlier. Your choice!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Extra for sea view may be worth it but public rooms, patio and lounge offer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank rocky-rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for the Belmont Hotel after your recent stay with us.

It was our pleasure to welcome you back for your second visit and we are very pleased to read that you had a super time and were able to enjoy our wonderful grounds and gardens and the glorious Lyme Bay views.

We were also happy to read that you felt well treated with the silver service you received during your dining experience in The Belmont Restaurant.

Although a higher proportion of our customers at The Belmont are of a certain age, we do our best to cater for all age groups with extensive leisure facilities based at our Sister Hotel, The Victoria next door to us with activities suitable for all.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review for The Belmont and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blakeney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

As lapsed frequent visitors to the Belmont Hotel we had forgotten how friendly and restful the Belmont was. A chance to get away from the maddening crowds and the stress of business once again led us to out favourite retreat. Nothing is too much trouble for Tim Beauchamp's team and we were once again made to feel welcome, like visiting old friends. The location, set above Sidmouth's regency facade, overlooking the sea on one side and Sidmouth Cricket ground on the other, is wonderful. The rooms are comfortable and with those little touches that makes a stay here such a treat. The cuisine is truly five star and wants for nothing. Thank you Tim, we'll be back again in the near future.

Room Tip: Every room is special but those with a sea view are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your most wonderful ‘5 star’ review for the Belmont Hotel after your recent stay with us.

It always gives us great pleasure to welcome our guests back and we are so pleased that you found the Hotel to be as friendly and restful as ever, your accommodation to be comfortable, and that you enjoyed your dining experience in The Belmont Restaurant.

We were also pleased to see that you find the Hotel’s location and proximity to Sidmouth’s Regency town with the views of Lyme Bay to be wonderful.

Your praise for Tim and his hard-working staff were the most rewarding to read and all your comments have been passed along. They were gratefully appreciated by all.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your wonderful review for The Belmont and Tim and his team all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

So pleased with my second visit to the Belmont. Staff could not do enough to please, with nothing being too much trouble. Restaurant as wonderful as ever, staff so friendly while being professional at the same time. Will certainly return,.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RonCelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review for the Belmont Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you found your second stay as wonderful as ever, especially your dining experience in the Belmont Restaurant.

All of your glowing comments with regards to our hardworking staff members service have been passed on. The staff always find it such a pleasure to help the guests wherever they can, and never find anything too much trouble. All your comments were greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for The Belmont, and we all look forward to welcoming you for your third visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Service as all top hotels used to do.Great welcome from staff. The reception is often impersonal at big chain hotels no such worries here.This is a small chain still family owned with friendly and efficient silver service.The impressive building is very well maintained with beautiful decor.
and furniture.Room very comfortable and complete maid service includes beds turned down each evening.Great breakfast choice and quality served fresh at your table.
Sidmouth is a sleepy seaside town so not lively.but if you want a luxurious relaxing break this is the place .Spa facilities are at sister hotel next door.

Room Tip: If no seaside rooms available we had a corner room overlooking cricket pitch and gardens which was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epocmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful ‘5 star’ review for the Belmont Hotel after your recent stay with us.

We can’t express how gratifying it was to read how a guest appreciates exactly what we are trying to achieve at The Belmont, and the style in which we provide it, from your initial greeting, silver service in The Belmont Restaurant, through to our turn-down service each evening.

It gave us great pleasure to know that you found the Hotel to have beautiful decorations and furnishings and to be well maintained, and that your room was very comfortable.

All of your wonderful comments have been passed onto our hardworking staff across all the departments and were greatly appreciated, particularly by our wonderful Reception Team.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your glowing review for The Belmont, and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Belmont is in the perfect position on Sidmouth sea front and within level walking distance to the town. If you are staying in a deluxe room, a private transfer to the town is available on request. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. There is a TV room, a large bar / lounge and a smaller lounge. Lovely terrace with fine views and a delightful rear tea garden. Ample parking. The service is first class, with all staff well dressed, polite, friendly and efficient. The service in the restaurant is very good, even when busy, with a large number of staff on duty.
We had a deluxe sea facing room which was very well furnished and maintained. Waiter service for meals. Food was very good, with the usual sort of prices for this kind of hotel. Recommended.

Room Tip: Deluxe sea facing rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review for the Belmont Hotel, after your recent stay with us.

It is a great pleasure to read that you found our location, the cleanliness of the Hotel, the many public rooms and indoor and outdoor facilities that we have to offer through to the standard and level of service you received from all our staff to be recommended.

Your praise for our hardworking staff members across all the departments was very welcoming to read and have been passed onto them. These comments were most appreciated.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review for The Belmont, and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salisbury, uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

After a bad experience at the next door Victoria (where we had been going for 30 odd years) we thought we would give their sister hotel, The Belmont, a go. There is no question that the Belmont does not have the 'presence' of the Victoria with the restaurant being at the back of the hotel and the interior in no way as grand, but our stay there has certainly reassured us as to Brend Hotels quality.
Reception was quick and efficient and our room was absolutely gorgeous. We had a deluxe sea view which had a lovely little balcony with the famous views over Sidmouth. A beautifully comfortable bed, nice bright bathroom, welcome note, flowers, chocolates, binoculars in the drawer and so on. We were made to feel really welcome. There was even a cricket match going on next door - couldn't get more quintessentially English if you tried.
I would agree though with a previous comment about housekeeping knocking and entering without waiting long enough. A little hasty I thought.
Dinner was excellent. Call me old fashioned, but I hate the new habit of using vegetables as a garnish rather than a main component of a meal and Brend Hotels present an excellent menu with a wonderful array of vegetables. Also nice to see a good intermediate course (have just spent 18 nights on the QM2 where salad leaves were the intermediate course EVERY night!). And thank you for hot plates ensuring hot food.
We retired to the bar for coffee and brandy and were treated to a band and dancing. Again excellent service.
Breakfast the next morning was perfect.
I also have to mention the flower arrangements. Throughout the hotel there are the most wonderful fresh flower displays - absolutely gorgeous.
We have a fondness for the Victoria though as my husband courted me there and in fact even worked there himself many years ago. We will give the Victoria another go although it will be no fault of the Belmont. A wonderful, traditional seaside hotel that is maintaining quality and standards against the trend. Well done!

Room Tip: If you can, go for a sea view room. It really is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Matthew Raistrick, Area Director at The Belmont Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review for the Belmont Hotel after your stay with us earlier this month.

We are delighted that we have been able to restore your faith as longstanding guests in Brend Hotels again. At the Belmont, we endeavour to always provide the very best in service, and it was a pleasure to read that you found your accommodation, with all the Deluxe extras, to be absolutely wonderful and even got to catch a cricket match that was being played next to the Hotel.

We were also pleased to read that you found your dining experience in the Belmont Restaurant to be excellent with a good choice of menu, and were able to enjoy the live band and dancing in the Bar area.

Your praise for our loyal and hardworking staff members is most welcomed and your comments have been passed on to all. They are all gratefully received, especially by our wonderful Florist Team. With regards to your comment regarding our Housekeepers, this has been taken on board and will be looked into.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your wonderful review for The Belmont, and we hope to be able to welcome you back for a visit the next time you stay at our Sister hotel, The Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#9 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belmont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont Hotel

Property: The Belmont Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sidmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Belmont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmont Hotel Sidmouth
The Belmont Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing