We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor management attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My sister and I visited this hotel in October 2013, as a member of a coach party.
We found the management/reception staff to be unwelcoming and as a member of a coach party we were made to feel like second class citizens. There was no option on time of dinner, it had to be at 7pm and our table in the dinning room was at the back where it was hot and airless - no sign of ceiling fans or air conditioning. Tables near the windows were reserved for 'private' guests and could not be allocated to us. Our 'room with a nice view' was situated over the kitchens overlooking the delivery yard where vans started unloading before 6am. The hotel's computer system was unable to produce bills for table wine and newspapers before 9pm on the last evening of our stay, not at all helpful when forty or more people had to pay their bills and we had an early departure the next morning. The one saving grace was the quality of the food and the dinning room waiting staff, these were both good.
Perhaps this hotel would be suitable if you were visiting as an independent traveller but not if you are a member of a coach party. So different from experiences of other hotels frequented by the same coach company.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, be aware that some rooms are situated over the kitchens and over look the delive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a two-night half board break at the Royal York and Faulkner earlier this week and it was a really good experience. On arrival we were offered assistance with our cases and directed to our room, which was on the top floor with the full sea view we had requested. The en-suite room was very clean and well furnished.

The food started with an included afternoon tea in one of the lounges and continued with an excellent 4 course dinner with varied items to select from plus vegetarian choices followed by coffee in any one of the several lounges.
Breakfast was as good as you will get anywhere and sufficient to make us not need to have lunch.

The (mainly young) staff were attentive, polite and helpful to their (mainly older) guests.
Wi-fi is free and there is a free access PC in a lounge.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesfurze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had the most wonderful 3 days staying here with friends and my dog. My room had a marvellous balcony and view of the sea which was just across the road. Staff were fantastic and the meals were very good with lots of choice. Can't wait to return

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We booked a last minute weekend break, two nights bed, breakfast and evening meal. We arrived and got given a room with stunning sea views. The room itself was somewhat dated, but it was clean and the bathroom was well refurbished.
Unlike most hotels it was not too hot, with some nice sitting areas. The dining room was a little over packed with people, all of a certain age on coach trips. The upside of this - no children, the downside, a hallway full of mobility scooters!
The food was nice, well cooked but quite plain. The highlight of our stay was the waitress in the evening, unwittingly very entertaining, but a real character that you could not help but like.
It is an oddity at breakfast, a buffet of juices and cereals, but no helping yourself - as if they don't want you to be self sufficient,
All in all a pleasant stay, I think we paid more than most of the residents, but we enjoyed it.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have big windows. The lift is a must if you are on floor three
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aytch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My mother and father in law booked a 5 day stay with cloud 9 holidays on their first day we were informed my father in law had a potential heart attack. We called the hotel were given a room next door to them drove down checked in at 1 am had a lovely cold meal waiting for us. The staff were great all meals lovely and while we couldn't really enjoy it the location was wonderful. Having worked in hospitality for 20 years for some of the worlds leading hotel groups I would have no issue recommending this hotel at all.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was our seventh visit to this hotel and the outstanding impression each visit has been the superb staff who consistently give the impression that they're enjoying what they do and are glad to be of service.
The siting of the hotel is convenient for the locality, the only minor problem being the limited car parking at the rear - but an facility is welcome and the staff have always managed to fit us in.
Dining is a good experience showing the staff to be exceptionally well trained and controlled. The food is always palatable, albeit with some unusual combinations of ingredients.
We hope to go again!

Room Tip: Depends what is wanted - we go for a sea facing room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My sister and I have just spent a most enjoyable time at the Royal York and Faulkner hotel in Sidmouth. The food was very good with the addition of afternoon tea with homemade cakes which comes with the dinner, bed and breakfast tariff. The young staff were all delightful and extremely helpful. It is well-placed on the promenade and the town of Sidmouth is very pretty and close by. The only thing that is slightly negative is the car parking arrangement at the rear of the hotel. This is limited and allocated on a first come first served basis. Keys have to be left with reception so that cars can be shunted around to let others out. If there are no spaces left you have to park in a public car park which is not ideal. I shall definitely consider going back again at some time in the future.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 016 on the ground floor which was a twin room and I reserved it on a single occupan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
988 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel
#8 of 13 in Sidmouth
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal York & Faulkner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £99 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York & Faulkner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Regency hotel enjoys an unrivaled position at the centre of Sidmouth’s elegant Esplanade, overlooking the sea and adjacent to the picturesque town centre. Owned and personally run by the Hook family, resident proprietors for three generations, the hotel has a long standing reputation for hospitality and service. The property, having undergone expensive though careful refurbishment, is beautifully appointed with all amenities, excellent facilities and a stunning new spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal York & Faulkner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York And Faulkner Hotel
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing