We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We chose the hotel based on previous tripadvisor reviews and were extremely pleased with our six day stay. The hotel was comfortable and the staff were friendly and efficient with nothing seeming too much trouble for them. It was great to stay in an English hotel that was able to provide gluten-free choices at every meal. Our room faced the sea and despite strong winds on some days (which provided dramatic seascapes) the room was pleasantly warm throughout our holiday. We both had massages at the hotel spa the quality of which was very good. Also, impressed by the price of after dinner drinks in the bar. This is often an area where a hotel may load the bill somewhat. Imagine my surprise to be charged only £5.40 for two brandies. My only reservation about the facilities/service at The Royal York relates to the hotel car park. It is too small for the size of the hotel and for our first night, when we arrived late in the day, we had to leave the car in the local authority car park behind the hotel. On subsequent days we had no problems, with the staff parking the car for us. Overall, a very relaxed and comfortable stay. We shall certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan_SueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and glad that we managed to fit your car in after the initial night. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    130
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
71
207
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent the weekend of 7th to 10th February, 2014 at the Hotel at the height of the strong winds and raging seas period. The hotel had just completed renovation but it was too windy even to remove all the scaffolding. The reception was very friendly and efficient. Our room was fine but, with the strong winds and the fact that the hotel was only just opening for the season, our room was cold. With no hesitation we were moved to another room which was of higher standard and at no increased cost. All other minor problems were dealt with in a very friendly and efficient manner and nothing was too much trouble. We were attending a dinner party in the hotel for which we had paid and, without any request from us, the manager arranged a refund for us because our tariff at the hotel included dinner. The impressions we were left with was that the hotel was very efficiently run and that the staff were at pains the ensure we had a pleasant stay. It was a most impressive visit and I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gramps075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your comments and recommendation. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willand, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Cold scones! Jam and cream served in the same dish. Such a shame. Lovely setting-spoiled by not knowing how to serve a cream tea. I've never been served cold scones before-certainly not what was expected from a good quality hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justroo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We were sorry to read that your cream tea was disappointing and apologise that the scones were served cold. We hope that you otherwise enjoyed your visit to the Hydra-Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Brilliant service, fab food and wonderful stay!! We were very surprised this hotel wasn't a 3-4 star. We stayed during miserable weather but that didn't dampen the weekend at this lovely hotel. Cafe blinis lunch was absolutely outstanding and not to be missed

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jelabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you so much for the review. Try as we might, we’ve had no luck in arranging the weather! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Royal York and Faulkner hotel. which was very enjoyable. The staff were all very helpful and the food was good. New Years Eves gala dinner was excellent as was the following entertainment and dancing. At midnight a piper appeared to play Auld Lang Syne.
The bedroom was very comfortable and nicely furbished and overall we were very satisfied.
We shall certainly be thinking of returning there again for next New Year.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over New Year. We’d be very pleased to welcome you back for this year’s festivities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We made our first visit to the Hotel for a Tinsel and Turkey weekend as part of a coach party. The Hotel staff were very Friendly the rooms clean and the food good. It was ment to be a Turkey and Tinsel break very dissapointed in this the decorations were very few no Tinsel in sight. The Christmas theme consisted of a turkey dinner where the waiting staff wore santa hats crackers on the table no festive music no christmas atmosphere. A candlelit dinner one night with 1 candle per table and the lights on. The hotel while nice was very very hot uncomfortably so. They also had a unhealthy fixation with Hygenie. Dont think we will return

Room Tip: Ask for a sea veiw otherwise all you will see is the back yard and roof tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theatre2northants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel over many years but this time we were disappointed. We found staff impersonal, the restaurant like a military operation, the tables too close together and the standard of food not as good as on previous visits. Afternoon tea was welcome but perhaps an afternoon or evening quiz might be an idea as the weather was not ideal. The flower arrangements could do with updating and the reception staff could be more welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal York & Faulkner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Property: Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York & Faulkner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Regency hotel enjoys an unrivaled position at the centre of Sidmouth’s elegant Esplanade, overlooking the sea and adjacent to the picturesque town centre. Owned and personally run by the Hook family, resident proprietors for three generations, the hotel has a long standing reputation for hospitality and service. The property, having undergone expensive though careful refurbishment, is beautifully appointed with all amenities, excellent facilities and a stunning new spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal York & Faulkner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York And Faulkner Hotel
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing