We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Victoria Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Salty Monk(Sidmouth)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elizabeth(Sidmouth)
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodlands Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sidholme Hotel(Sidmouth)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
284
149
40
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
284
149
40
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyork suiteafternoon teasea viewsea frontcoach partybowls tourcoach holidaysound of the wavescourse dinnerthird floorrelaxing breakolder clienteleexcellent foodwatching the worldold fashionedsilver servicestep back in time
Filter
Updating list...
345 - 350 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had never visited Sidmouth and booked this hotel on the recommendation of a friend. We were very happy with our choice. The hotel is situated right on The Esplanade with views over the seafront and the town and shops nearby. Our room, although on the top floor (no problem as there is a lift) was clean, comfortable and very nicely furnished with plenty of space. Next time we will try to book a room with a balcony. Our tariff included breakfast and dinner, with afternoon tea available as well. The food was all excellent and the dining room staff were very professional and attentive to our needs. All the staff in the hotel were helpful and considerate - service of this standard is exceptional. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patdavidroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels we've stayed in, the star rating doesn't fit the service received should have been 5 stars , all staff are attentive to everyone's needs , the food is Devine , lots of courses and choice . The only down side is not all rooms are sea view, so book early , the spar was very good but small , the beach is just yards away and the town with good shops in is also a few yards away too. , the decor won't be to everyone's taste but it's not a modern hotel , but very clean and has an historic feel with very high standards

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank joseph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you’ll visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

If you want warm, friendly, old fashioned service, good food and comfortable rooms in the perfect location overlooking the bay, this hotel has it all. We have been returning here for six years, and arrive in time for afternoon tea. Our perfect break!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We chose the hotel based on previous tripadvisor reviews and were extremely pleased with our six day stay. The hotel was comfortable and the staff were friendly and efficient with nothing seeming too much trouble for them. It was great to stay in an English hotel that was able to provide gluten-free choices at every meal. Our room faced the sea and despite strong winds on some days (which provided dramatic seascapes) the room was pleasantly warm throughout our holiday. We both had massages at the hotel spa the quality of which was very good. Also, impressed by the price of after dinner drinks in the bar. This is often an area where a hotel may load the bill somewhat. Imagine my surprise to be charged only £5.40 for two brandies. My only reservation about the facilities/service at The Royal York relates to the hotel car park. It is too small for the size of the hotel and for our first night, when we arrived late in the day, we had to leave the car in the local authority car park behind the hotel. On subsequent days we had no problems, with the staff parking the car for us. Overall, a very relaxed and comfortable stay. We shall certainly go back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan_SueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us and glad that we managed to fit your car in after the initial night. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent the weekend of 7th to 10th February, 2014 at the Hotel at the height of the strong winds and raging seas period. The hotel had just completed renovation but it was too windy even to remove all the scaffolding. The reception was very friendly and efficient. Our room was fine but, with the strong winds and the fact that the hotel was only just opening for the season, our room was cold. With no hesitation we were moved to another room which was of higher standard and at no increased cost. All other minor problems were dealt with in a very friendly and efficient manner and nothing was too much trouble. We were attending a dinner party in the hotel for which we had paid and, without any request from us, the manager arranged a refund for us because our tariff at the hotel included dinner. The impressions we were left with was that the hotel was very efficiently run and that the staff were at pains the ensure we had a pleasant stay. It was a most impressive visit and I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gramps075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for your comments and recommendation. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews