We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seaside heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seaside heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Have just returned from 4day stay here, We thought it absolutely lovely. Our sea facing room was excellent, very comfortable with good sized bathroom. There were lovely public rooms and lounges. and nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and attentive staff. The whole hotel was clean and comfortable with the charm of and old but loved building. The menus were varied and excellent. All in all a lovely place to stay for anyone wanting a peaceful holiday in a charming seaside resort
Mr & Mrs A Layland

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms have lovely views and were surprisingly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us and appreciated “the charm of an old but loved building”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    122
    31
    14
    7
See reviews for
65
184
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked a last minute weekend stay and despite being about 30 years younger than the other guests, we wouldn't hesitiate to revisit this welcoming superbly run family hotel.

Our 3rd floor room overlooking the sea was clean, very comfortable (the 6ft wide bed was bliss!) and its decor suited the age of the hotel.

The food was exceptiopnal. I have an allergy to onions so when I eat away from home my diet is very restricted as most dishes have onions in them. However, the fantastic chefs met with me and told me they would adapt whatever dish I wanted. It was a real treat to have absolute free choice from a menu - many thanks to them!!

The dining room staff who served us - Fabrice and Andrew were very professional, attentive and friendly, as was the receptionist

We will certainly return to this excellent hotel as it's location is great for seeing Devon

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We will be sure to pass your comments to our staff and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We've just thoroughly enjoyed a weeks stay in delightful Sidmouth, our first visit staying in this family owned, sea front hotel. Our average size room overlooking the sea was comfortable and clean, with a smallish but adequate bathroom. We were very happy to be on dinner, bed and breakfast terms as the food was exceptional, served by well organised, friendly, helpful staff. Breakfast menu was comprehensive, including fruit, cereals, porridge, yogurts, full English plus extras, smoked fish etc. Dinner was a 4 course meal with excellent choices.

Entertainment was on offer several evenings in the main lounge bar but other rooms were available if a quiet evening is preferred, or you can have a game of snooker in the snooker room. We also took the opportunity to use the swimming pool just a couple of minutes away with a special deal with the hotel.

We stayed there as a group and it is one of the best value for money hotels we have used. The staff, without exception could not have been more friendly and helpful, the hotel comfortable, clean and welcoming, and the food excellent .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaishaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Sidmouth is unspoilt and is ideal for pensioners and anyone who wishes to avoid the commercial way of life. The hotel is next to the sea and within easy reach of the local shopping streets.The rooms were well looked after and the staff very attentive. the food was superb with a very good variation over our 6 night stay. The entertainment was a very high standard and everyone had a great time. The spa was lovely at a reasonable cost. A big thank you and highly recommended

Room Tip: This was a group of ex work colleagues in a pensioner group holiday. We had45go and all hada great e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerphall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Royal York and Faulkener while attending a speed hill climb at nearby Wiscombe Park with an old school friend. We needed single rooms and had Dinner Bed and Breakfast terms. The rooms were very comfortable and the food in the restaurant was of a good standard with exceptionally willing staff. Above all the hotel provided excellent value for money, my only quibble would be car parking although we had no problem street parking during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malknoO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you also enjoyed the Hill Climb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this hotel last minute, so no front sea view rooms available. However even though our rooms were at the back and side of the hotel, they were pleasant enough and comfortable. The hotel itself has dated decor but very clean with good old fashioned service, I think their motto must be "nothing is too much trouble". The staff were all very cheerful and very helpful and food was excellent with the added bonus that the hotel is right on the sea front and within 30 seconds you could find yourself on the beach depending on your mobility because this hotel does seem to have a niche with the more mature clientele. The live music on Saturday night was geared to this age group but was of a high standard and well received by all. It also has a great Spa area, with steam room etc an added bonus to ease aching muscles from long walks in such a beautiful location.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms at the front of the hotel have a balcony with seating to enjoy the wonderful seafron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol_trower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding the hotel, especially our cheerful and helpful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hitchin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I have just spent May bank holiday at this hotel, this was my first time in Sidmouth.The hotel is right on the sea front and we had a sea view the room was large and very clean.The food was excellent and the staff gave you 100% service.The only down side is the car park it is very small so keys have to be left at reception so cars can be moved to let other cars out
.Tip l don't know why the hotel doesn't have an arrangement with the owners of the public car park next door and hand out parking permits to their customers for the duration of their stay even if they make a small charge for this then you would have a choice. I would go back and stay again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bedfordRagdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Bank Holiday stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal York & Faulkner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Property: Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York & Faulkner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Regency hotel enjoys an unrivaled position at the centre of Sidmouth’s elegant Esplanade, overlooking the sea and adjacent to the picturesque town centre. Owned and personally run by the Hook family, resident proprietors for three generations, the hotel has a long standing reputation for hospitality and service. The property, having undergone expensive though careful refurbishment, is beautifully appointed with all amenities, excellent facilities and a stunning new spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal York & Faulkner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York And Faulkner Hotel
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing