We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of its kind and excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Royal Faulkner during folk week, when I imagine it is at its busiest. Even so all the staff who were stretched for time were polite friendly and efficient. The hotel is clearly a one off and harks back to a time when life was more gracious where people talked to each other with interest and respect and where those who could would take afternoon tea. When booking at the Royal Forkner the option is to take full board. Which means that the overall price includes a full cooked breakfast, afternoon tea and an evening five course meal. All of the food tasted fresh and
It was clear that we had a team of chefs who used either local produce or very high quality suppliers.

Our room was on the first floor well appointed with a Seaview and balcony. Many of the guests
were over the age of 50 or 60. As we were there in Folk Week the mix was slightly better
with some younger people as well. But this hotel very much caters for its elderly customers, having said that anyone, irrespective of age would like a sea view, free internet access, fresh tasteful food and the kind of friendly service we experienced.

Thank you to the hotel for a lovely stay

Room Tip: 1st floor with great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank diiivav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Staying at this hotel is a little bit like stepping back into the seventies or eighties with its dated decor and you can't help but feel that it has gone a little way past it's prime.
Saying that it has most definitely got a certain charm and the staff were always really friendly and helpful.
As previous reviews have mentioned this hotel seems to have carved out a bit of a niche with the elderly and clearly this seems to work for business but at some point you really need to modernise don't you?
The only area where I had a concern with is the hotel car park where you park three or four cars deep and have to leave your keys at the reception desk in case another guest needs to get out - I would be particularly reluctant if I had recently purchased a new car or had a larger vehicle ( I drive a little mini and still found it all a bit tight!! )
Overall though we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livetotravel1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our charm even if our traditional décor was not to your taste. We do elect to furnish in a period rather than modern style as we believe it befits the Regency building. I appreciate that our car park is limited in that it is arranged in bays, but rest assured, our porters are quite experienced in manoeuvring the cars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have a sentimental attachment to this hotel going back many years but haven't stayed here for a while. The location could not be better, right on the sea front and you can go straight out for a swim. When it is lively like in Folk Week you can participate without going far. Very handy for the town.

The staff were all lovely but the room was very small for the price and while the sea view was wonderful, I could imagine if the weather got much more than 70degF you would roast. The fittings were new but the decor quite old fashioned. When we arrived the phone didn't work (but it got fixed quickly) and they forgot to replenish the biscuits.

We were seated at a specific table in the breakfast room in an area which was quite dark, and the first day we were ignored for 10 minutes until someone realised we didn't have a menu. The food was fine but all served at table, no chance to choose or mix and match, a little outdated approach these days. Sliced white or brown toast, no special bread, ordinary cereal. The coffee they said was fresh but it didn't taste of anything at all.

Mostly this hotel caters for pensioners on a half/full board package, and I am sure it is very suitable for them but there is a new generation of hotel stayers coming along and this hotel feels a bit left in the last century at the moment, although it does now offer quick wifi.

The other downside is that the car park is very small but I know how hard parking is in Sismouth so was prepared to have to walk.

Room Tip: Sea view or not is really the question here. We had a room with "private" bath ie not ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank helenakitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review, we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel is well placed for Sidmouth being right on The Esplanade. So get a room with a sea view and you are fortunate. Staff are very friendly with a very strong International mix. Our stay there was pleasant enough but the client mix is very much the older generation and we are in our sixties. So if you are over 70 you will fit in well!

The hotel needs a complete makeover. Three stars is generous rating given the need to modernise and certainly the facilities are basic at best. Over priced for what you get but as stated the foreign staff help save it from nothing more than an average hotel. The complimentary afternoon tea is to be avoided!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We were sorry to hear that the traditional style of the hotel was not to your personal taste, however Visit Britain & the AA work to a stringent set of guidelines when assessing and grading establishments and we are proud of the 3 star status that they have awarded us. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Have visited this hotel many times and this stay was for a family get together in August. Convenient location for the beach across the road which was enjoyed by the grandchildren. Meals, choice and the friendly service in the dining room were great this time, also cleaning staff very friendly, however reception was efficient but not particularly helpful and friendly. It was Folk Week so some rooms noisy at night but we had expected that, and enjoyed some of the folk activities during the daytime, we also used the nearby swimming pool. We enjoyed our stay and I hope we will be able to stay for another family get together.

Room Tip: Some rooms at the back of the hotel have kitchen extractors outside which are at times noisy and vib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoanLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Please accept our apologies for reception not being friendly, we shall certainly take this up with them. Glad however that on the whole, you and your family enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Great location on the seafront with limited amount of on site parking. Room plain but well decorated and clean. Had a room on the back of the hotel with plenty of windows. Lift to all floors. Breakfast good but disorganised service. Had to laugh when asking for brown toast and ketchup to go with the bacon as a plate arrived with ketchup on brown toast !!!! Enjoyed the hydro spa in the basement for an extra cost.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RDAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Manager at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We are sorry to hear that breakfast was a little disorganised and not up to our usual standard of service – we were obviously experiencing a “fawlty towers” morning. Thank you for taking it with such good grace although please be assured that some further training will be delivered. It’s always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed the Hydra-Spa and our superb sea front location. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Needed a few days away 4 in all to escape the stress of London.
The hotel is right on the seafront and I had a sea view single small but adequate... I could open the window and hear the sea which was lovely. Its not a boutique hotel its old fashioned but the staff are all helpful and friendly.

Food was excellent breakfast served politely and quickly. Dinner had plenty of choices. Afternoon tea and scones was also a nice touch.

I used the spa which was very relaxing and had a very good massage.

The start of folk week was interesting even though I don't like folk it meant the town was lively
with stalls on the prom and band on in nearby bars..

Room Tip: Seaview rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank suzhLondon_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryfadmin, Owner at Royal York & Faulkner Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

There’s nothing quite like sea air to revive and refresh! I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it sounds like it did the trick. I will pass on your comments to our chef and therapists, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
The Kingswood & Devoran Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - T
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
957 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth
Hotel Elizabeth
#7 of 13 in Sidmouth
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal York & Faulkner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range: £99 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York & Faulkner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Regency hotel enjoys an unrivaled position at the centre of Sidmouth’s elegant Esplanade, overlooking the sea and adjacent to the picturesque town centre. Owned and personally run by the Hook family, resident proprietors for three generations, the hotel has a long standing reputation for hospitality and service. The property, having undergone expensive though careful refurbishment, is beautifully appointed with all amenities, excellent facilities and a stunning new spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal York & Faulkner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York And Faulkner Hotel
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing