We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
549 results
Traveller rating
311
165
44
15
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
311
165
44
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews york suite afternoon tea sea view sea front coach party bowls tour coach holiday third floor course dinner sound of the waves relaxing break older clientele waiter service excellent food old fashioned seafront hotel silver service
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 549 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This was our first visit to the hotel, and it won't be our last.
Very well run in all departments, tasteful decor, excellent food and service, great location- what more could you ask for.
We enjoyed two nights in the Faulkner Suite, very comfortable with your own lounge area and small kitchenette.
Everywhere in the hotel was also spotlessly clean.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Lovely seafront hotel, would have liked a seaview; but we had a dog and was at the back of the hotel. Nevertheless it didn't stop us from enjoying our stay. Liked the fact that we could book half board for our weekend; this particularly attracted us to booking and the fact it was right on the seafront; had parking. Didn't use our car all weekend which was great, as traffic in the town in the daytime horrendous. Plenty of walking. All the staff were lovely and smiled when they spoke to you; I like that.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This holiday had originally been planned for May 2016 but, due to our grandson suddenly being diagnosed with leukaemia, it was postponed. The hotel promised to keep our deposit until such time as we felt we could renew the booking.
They were as good as their word and my wife and I were very impressed with the sympathetic way in which the whole matter was handled almost a year later.

The hotel proved to be very comfortable and all the staff very friendly and helpful. Service at table was very quick and the food adequate.

Room tip: Our 1st. floor sea view room with balcony was spacious and very comfortable.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed a comfortable and relaxing stay in this excellent, traditional, seafront hotel. This was our ninth visit, need we say more? Tastefully decorated, good food and attentive staff, what more could you ask?

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Just returned from a social, walking weekend with the girls. We can't recommend this hotel enough, our experience was perfect from start to finish. We are a group of ladies in our mid-forties who wanted a relaxing weekend walking, away from the kids, with a bit of spa, good food, near the sea and a comfortable place to stay. This hotel ticks all the boxes. We were thoroughly spoilt by all the staff and didn't want to go home. From lovely breakfast, to afternoon tea, spa, four-course dinner and even a bit of dancing with the local residents - we enjoyed every minute. The staff could not do enough for us. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much.

Room tip: Deluxe rooms on the first floor are larger
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car0linemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews