We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a charming tradition and enduring quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Sidmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel with a charming tradition and enduring quality”
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Stayed one night prior to Christmas. If you have yearning for the high standards in English hotels then the Royal York & Faulkner Hotel will not disappoint. The rooms are pleasing and restful, spacious with lofty ceiling, well furnished. No need to sit on your bed here. The hotel complex has a number of lounges for the use of clients. Of special note is the restaurant. Very nice function suite, quaint wood panelled room, delighted in the fact that the cutlery was not your thin, boring, disposable 'irons' that seems these days to be the hallmark of some hotel. Enjoyed a generous afternoon tea, a superb, multi choice evening meal, very hearty breakfast, a sea view balcony room all within the price. Great family owned hotel with a respect for traditions. Have lost counts of the number of times we have stayed here.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thierry_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    130
    34
    15
    8
See reviews for
71
207
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We have stayed at this hotel on many occasions. The food is excellent, the bed rooms are well furnished and the staff are all very helpful. In particular, this is a well managed hotel that always runs smoothly. Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterandsuebyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Anyone who visits this hotel and fails to be impressed by the standard of service, food, and accomodation should not be allowed out of the house.
my wife and I arrived 'on speck' for a half term break and were fortunate enough to be offered a Sea View room with breakfast, Afternoon tea(and as many cream cakes as you can eat) and what turned out to be five star 4 course evening meals which icluded braised vennison, pestaccio stuffed Guinea foul and a number of various fish dishes to savour. The wine list was extensive and very reasonable, and the service was unrivaled at any of the numerous hotels we have stopped in over the past 30 years.......Cost ? £56 per night !!!
Sounds too good to be true ?? Well I can honestly say the place was Brilliant !! and we will be recomending the royal york to all our friends. Oh.....they also get discounted golf at Local clubs which saved us thirty quid.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

lovely old fashioned hotel in a beautiful place. I disagree with an earlier review regarding the food, it is excellent food, very fine dining with good choice. Good service. Rooms clean but old type, we had a sink in the bedroom. Sidmouth is such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2010

From the time we arrived until we left we found the hotel an excellent choice
The staff were the most helpful I have come across for a long time. As for the food - it could not have been better. The choices for breakfast and dinner were something to be desired. The only downside was the noise of the sea at night. We had a front room overlooking the sea and when the tide was coming in it was a little noisey. This did not spoil the holiday. Apart from that the room was excellent. Very conveniently situated for the shops

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicarage79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The hotel does seem to cater for the older end of the spectrum, but the location is great , and the rooms do have an old fashioned charm. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful (a reservation mix up was professionally dealt with and a suitable discount given). The 5 course dinner is reasonable, tho each course does come rather quickly after the other, so no real time to linger over your meal. Great spa facility in the basement, and free access to the swimming pool just around the corner!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Stayed here eight nights for Folk Week and cannot fault the place. The staff cannot do enough for you, and everyone was very friendly. The dinner package (£10 more per night than B&B) is well worth it, as the food was very good, and the cakes at afternoon tea were delicious. I would agree with other reviews that the car park is small, but I managed to get a spot on the seafront, so was not affected.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueintheface808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sidmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#3 of 13 in Sidmouth
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#2 of 13 in Sidmouth
873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sidmouth Harbour Hotel - The Westcliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 13 in Sidmouth
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#10 of 13 in Sidmouth
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#4 of 13 in Sidmouth
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal York & Faulkner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York & Faulkner Hotel

Property: Royal York & Faulkner Hotel
Address: The Esplanade, Sidmouth EX10 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Sidmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sidmouth
#7 Family Hotel in Sidmouth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sidmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York & Faulkner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent Regency hotel enjoys an unrivaled position at the centre of Sidmouth’s elegant Esplanade, overlooking the sea and adjacent to the picturesque town centre. Owned and personally run by the Hook family, resident proprietors for three generations, the hotel has a long standing reputation for hospitality and service. The property, having undergone expensive though careful refurbishment, is beautifully appointed with all amenities, excellent facilities and a stunning new spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Royal York & Faulkner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal York And Faulkner Hotel
Royal York & Faulkner Hotel Sidmouth, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing