We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shippen Cottage

Shippen Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shippen Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Shippen Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
honeybob
weston-super-mare
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Lovely to be back again at Shipham cottage for our 8th stay. We always enjoy our relaxing stay at Boswell Farm and it was lovely to be back. We made our usual visits to lovely Lyme Regis, Sidmouth and Budleigh Salterton. As usual We could not fault Shipham which is always immaculate, so thank you Linda, Sarah and team for making us so welcome.

PS. Thank you for the welcome pack, the cream tea and wine was most enjoyable.

Best regards.

Mike. Les & Minnie the dog

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review, we very much appreciate it. It is always a pleasure to chat with you and welcome you to Boswell, we look forward to your 9th visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honeybob
weston-super-mare
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another lovey stay at Boswell Farm”
Reviewed 27 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We really enjoyed our 7th visit at Boswell Farm, staying in Shipham again, its beginning to feel like home from home. We always find it very cosy with a lovely private gargen. Minnie our dog gets quite excited as we drive up the lane to the farm when we arrive, like us he seems to to feel right at home. immaculately clean as usual and thank for the cream tea. hopefully we will be back again in 2018.

Thank you Linda, sarah and team.

Thanks again.

Mike, Les and Minnie the Tibetan Spanial.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are always delighted to welcome you back to Boswell and are so glad that you feel at home here. You are very much part of the Boswell family, and we look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honeybob
weston-super-mare
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay at Boswell farm”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My wife, Minnie our Tibetan Spaniel and I have just enjoyed our 6th stay at Boswell farm, again staying in cosy Hayloft cottage. As usual everything was spotless, and the welcome pack is a lovely touch.

As usual we made a visit to lovely Budleigh Salterton. Otterton for a walk along the river then afternoon tea and cake at the Mill. And a visit to Lyme Regis is always a delight, Sidmouth is only approx one and a half miles away so we spent quite a lot our time there, we love the regency sea front and beautiful Connaught gardens.

Thank you Linda and Sarah for making our stay so pleasurable. Hopefully we will be back for another stay later in the year.

Regards.

Mike and Les Webster.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is always a pleasure to welcome you all to Boswell, we very much hope to welcome you back very soon! Linda, Sarah and the team!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickDWinc...
Winchester UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Went there with our hounds and they enjoyed it even more than us!
Lovely walks around the fields and into Sidmouth - 2 1/2 miles
Cottage was lovely - very clean and everything to a good standard
Lovely location and feel the the whole place.
Will visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Shippen Cottage. We are delighted you all enjoyed Boswell and the surrounding area. Thank you for your kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honeybob
weston-super-mare
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A most relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This has been our 4th visit to Boswell Farm, twice in Hayloft and twice in Shippen, and each holiday has been made all the better because of the excellent accommodation. The cottages are always immaculate and welcoming and the cream tea on arrival plus wine and other goodies are always a very welcome thought.. Thank you Linda and Sarah for making our stay so enjoyable.

We are really looking forward to our next visit in the not to distant future.

Mike & Les Webster. Weston-Super-Mare.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you both so much for taking the time to do a review for us, and more importantly for being such valued return guests of ours at Boswell. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all that Boswell has to offer! We very much hope to welcome you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barbara P
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet your and your special four legged family member. Thank you for your kind comments we hope to welcome you back to Boswell soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing