We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All round stunner”
other travellers have booked this property
Golden Cottage - with private parking space at the front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Golden Cottage - with private parking space at the front
Master bedroom - dual aspect with feature bay window Bedroom 2 - twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Golden Cottage - with private parking space at the front
Master bedroom - dual aspect with feature bay window
Bedroom 2 - twin bedroom
Bedroom 3 - single bedroom
Kitchen diner - modern and well equipped
Dining area - bright and sunny with views out on to the courtyard garden
Living room - with 40-inch TV and DVD / Blu-Ray player plus coal effect gas fire
Bathroom - with walk-in shower
Bathroom - large corner bath
Downstairs cloakroom and WC
Courtyard garden - with sun loungers
Courtyard garden - with outdoor seating
The Swan Inn - 50 metres away
The Byes - a peaceful river walk
Sidmouth Esplanade - looking towards Salcombe Regis
Sidmouth beach at Jacobs Ladder
Sidmouth Esplanade - looking towards Jacobs Ladder
Sidmouth beach - looking towards Jacobs Ladder
Sidmouth Esplanade - looking towards Jacobs Ladder (at night)
Sidmouth beach - at sunset
Golden Cottage sign
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
graciebab...
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“All round stunner”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

From the moment we walked in we fell in love with this sunny, welcoming cottage. Brilliantly positioned for beach and shops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Golden Cottage. We are always delighted when our guests love the cottage as much as we do! We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Lizzy and Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanya M
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Lovely cottage in an excellent location. Nice and spacious and we were able to put the teenagers on the top floor out of our sight! Very comfortable and clean with good basic equipment for a holiday let. We had one concern with a bedroom door but a very lovely gentleman came out and fixed the hinge the same day. Perfect for shopping , eating and walking to the beach.
Just wish we were there now..... maybe next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words - we are absolutely delighted that the cottage suited your needs so well and that you had such a pleasant stay. We greatly appreciate all the feedback we get from our valued guests and we do hope you will come and stay again soon! Lizzy and Alex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldcharit...
great britain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great cottage and location”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at this lovely cottage for a week in July, there were four adults, a two year old and a baby and there was plenty if room for us all. The cottage is bright, airy and tastefully decorated. The kitchen is well equipped and the washing machine in a separate utility room was a bonus. Large bathroom with a good power shower.
The location is great for all Sidmouth has to offer being only a couple of minutes walk to the beach front with room to park one car and wifi also provided.
Would definitely return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your kind and positive comments about Golden Cottage. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay and found the cottage suitable for all your needs. We would love to welcome you back to Golden Cottage again in the future! Lizzy and Alex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your review of Golden Cottage - we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable holiday and would be delighted to welcome you back to Golden Cottage again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tara O
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous and cosy little cottage that lived up to its rating .”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I had a great stay at the cottage with three others in Feb. Very homely, cosy and immaculate inside and a great base from which to explore beautiful Sidmouth and beyond . Already looking to book again for next year . Many thanks for the lovely stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your kind comments - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Golden Cottage in the future! Lizzy and Alex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simondavi...
1 review
“A wonderful base for a weekend in Sidmouth”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I had a fantastic stay at Golden Cottage with a group of friends in late February. The location was outstanding - on a quiet road but perfect for the town centre and the beach. The cottage itself was bright and cosy. The bedrooms were a good size and there was a great kitchen/diner and power shower. I will definitely be back for a visit in the future and would thoroughly recommend it for groups of friends or families.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend at Golden Cottage and hope that you will come and stay again next time you are in Sidmouth! Lizzy and Alex.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harry J
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage for family trips to the seaside”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

You couldn’t ask for more than Golden Cottage if you’re planning a visit to the beautiful seaside town of Sidmouth.

Located in the centre of town, it’s less than a five minute walk over flat ground to the seafront and town centre.

The cottage is newly furnished and in a very clean and modern condition with lots of nice touches. For example, we arrived to find a traditional Devon cream tea waiting for us on the dining table, complete with home-made scones, double cream and jam!

The whole property feels warm, comfortable and welcoming, with clean, fresh bedding and towels and new carpets throughout. Should you encounter rain or opt for a quiet night in, there’s a great selection of children’s books, DVDs and board games. Off street parking means you’re guaranteed a parking space and loading/unloading the car is trivial.

Owners Alex and Lizzy are very helpful and also know just what young families need - going as far as arranging for someone to visit the cottage at short notice and set up a baby cot for our arrival.

All in all, we had a fantastic long weekend with our toddler and newborn, relaxing on the beach, strolling along the seafront and enjoying traditional Devonshire ice creams and fish and chips. We’re looking forward to our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
Thank you for your positive comments, we are delighted that you had such a lovely stay at Golden Cottage and we hope to welcome you back to Sidmouth again! Lizzy and Alex
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing