We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
garden party!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
44 reviews
garden party!
The neighbours
Jurassic coast
Local pub
Views from Stoneleigh
Neighbours
Well behaved dogs welcome!
Views from Stoneleigh
Views from Stoneleigh
Stoneleigh grounds
Sidmouth beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kitkat8rz
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a lovely short break at seagull cottage. The cottage is basic but has everything needed for a comfortable stay especially for how much it costs per night. Great that it's such a short walk to see the donkeys, our 2yr old loved it! We found we had to put quite a few £1's into the electric meter but it was the end of October so was quite chilly. If you stay in cooler months just make sure you have a few pound coins to keep you going.
Overall an enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2016
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our cottage so all comments appreciated! Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Oct 2016
Thanks Gary for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
carolanne...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a lovely holiday in the Devon countryside”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for a week and we had a great time the cottage was comfortable and well equipped the site was peaceful and in lovely surroundings we definitely had breakfast with donkeys sidmouth was nearby and there was lots to see and do in the area we would definitely come again

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Thank you Carol for your lovely review. I am glad you found the standard of the facilities of our cottage to be good! We endeavour to make it as comfortable as possible. The area does have a lot it offer- and hidden gems. I hope we can welcome you again! Kind regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explore47...
1 review
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 20 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights from 14th August and it is really lovely. Very clean and comfortable fully equipped cottage with modern contemporary decor, yet feeling very cosy. Nice quiet area. Stayed with husband and very young grandchildren and though quite compact with the kiddies having their toys around we all really enjoyed it. Also there is only a shower and no bath so was ok for our nearly four year old grandaughter, but had to bath our 15 month grandson in a bowl in the shower unit which didn't bother him at all, but just to lmake you aware. Also great idea of a stable door so kiddies couldn't get out but the top half was open.Nice little drive down to a lovely beach for the kiddies.
Just a shame the holiday park itself has only one piece of equipment in the quite large play are. Would be nice to see more things there on our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The play area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Tha you for your review! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We try to provide for all types of guests, and I am pleased you were able to find a satisfactory solution for your grandson's bathing! It is hoped there will be more facilities in the near future for children. I do look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darryl a
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and kids love it”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I thought the cottage was just right had everything we needed as a family. The location was great not far from anything and you could walk down to the donkey sanctuary and it had a lovely walk down to a secluded beach which the kids love.sidmouth was lovely and a 25 minute journey to Lyne Regis is a must and beautiful beer was pretty seaside village.debbie thanks again really love you cottage

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Hi Darryl, thanks so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the kids loved the donkeys! I hope we can welcome you back again. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vir G
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage very handy for Donkeys, Beaches, Jurassic Cliff walks, & Devon”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in June 2015

We have stayed at this lovely cottage many times (up to 3 times in one year) and firstly must pay tribute to the cleanliness and facilities within the cottage. It's set on a smallish quiet, peaceful site and for animal lovers the large Donkey Sanctuary is a short walk away and you can easily while away an afternoon relaxing with these friendly creatures and enjoying the cafe. Sidmouth is a very quiet seaside resort 10 minutes away by car, and there are numerous other delightful seaside towns up and down the coast as well as inland. Dartmoor is well worth at least one visit. less than an hour away by car, with its unique landscape and fascinating history and wildlife. I was a tad reluctant to post this review because it means this cottage will become even more popular and be harder for me to book, but I can honestly say that the cottage, the quite site and the excellent attractions (especially the donkeys!) within easy reach make this a pleasure to visit time and time again. Really can't recommend it highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and peaceful site
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely words. We are always delighted to welcome back guests who have appreciated what not only the cottage has to offer,but the wonderful surroundings. Your return custom is appreciated and I hope that you will continue to use Seagull Cottage as a base for exploring other wonderful areas of the East Devon countryside.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Bedroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry you were disappointed. We do aim to please. I have taken up with our cleaners who have now sorted the issues. We do have on site maintenance but I am unsure if you contacted. They tell me they didn't receive a call out. We do our best with the carpets. Unfortunately we have had some guests who didn't manage their pets appropriately. I do hope this hasn't deterred you from the location and perhaps we can welcome you again. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing