We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal cosy cottage for weekend break”
other travellers have booked this property
'Puffins'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Puffins'
Lounge Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
'Puffins'
Lounge
Master Bedroom
Dining Room
Second Bedroom
'The Byes'
Kitchen/Dining Room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Courtyard Garden
Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tim E
1 review
“Ideal cosy cottage for weekend break”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We really enjoyed a very comfortable weekend stay at this lovely house in a good location for local amenities. Brilliantly clean and everything we needed - comfy beds and good shower! The scones on arrival were really delicious. Late morning check out time much appreciated and parking was always easy. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2017
Thankyou so much for your comments. It's really satisfying to hear that you all had such a positive experience as that is what I always hope to achieve. I hope that perhaps you will choose 'Puffins' again one day.
Best Wishes
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 May 2017
So pleased your stay went well and you all enjoyed Puffins. I look forward to hearing from you again one day. Any more Weddings?! Thankyou for your review.
Best wishes
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful break in Sidmouth”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Puffins was lovely, everything had been thought of. It was cosy and very clean. So nice to be welcomed by a cream tea as well, started our break off in Devon nicely. The beds were comfy and the lane the house was on nice and quiet. Thank you for a wonderful break away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thankyou for taking the time to post your lovely review. It's just great to hear that Puffins enabled you have a wonderful break, it's so important to me that my Guests are happy.
Best wishes
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drizzy
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“lovely helpful owner”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Puffins is an easy walk into Sidmouth (maybe not if you have limited mobility). We had no problem finding parking outside on the street. Easy access via a key safe and lovely little gift of scones, jam and cream waiting for us.
Kitchen has most things and really helpfully, some plastic cutlery, plates, bowels and a high chair for little people. There's also a children's desk full of books and activities. Fresh pastries from Lidl 0.5km away in the morning, waitrose 0.9km away as well.

The beds are super comfortable and bathroom is a good size with great powerful shower. All the linen and towels are good although there wasn't a third set for our son.

The only thing that really p'd me off was the neighbours which is totally not the fault of the owner. Two nights in a row the neighbours up the hill had TV/music on super loud until after midnight. However, they did stop immediately with some aggressive hammering on the wall!

Owner's communication was great, really quick to reply to emails.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thankyou for your review. Firstly I am sorry that I had made the mistake regarding towels. It was an error on my part as I normally allow a set per person so not sure what happened there!
I would also like to apologize on behalf of the neighbour and thankyou for bringing it to my attention. Fortunately this hasn't been a problem for my other Guests which I realise is no help to you, it must have been horrible and I will have a word.
Even though this occurred I am so grateful for your positive comments and would be happy to welcome you again.
Best wishes
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellefrenc...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We has such a lovely weekend in this small but perfect little gem.
Every little detail had been thought of, and it was really handy for the town.
The bed linen was pristine and the overall cleanliness excellent - good quality crockery and everything provided, even down to a spare toothbrush.
Will definitely visit again with family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Thankyou for your lovely review. It was great to read that you and your sister enjoyed Puffins. I have tried to make the cottage feel like home from home so that Guests can relax from the moment they arrive. Reading the reviews and lovely comments guests leave that hopefully has been achieved and is just great to hear!
I look forward to hearing from you and your family/friends in the future.
Best wishes
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super cosy comfy well located cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just returned form a 3 night stay at Puffins cottage. Just perfect !!
It was easy to find. Cosy, warm, comfortable and VERY well equipped to a high standard. Everything has been though of. Very homely. The double bed was extremely comfortable. Power shower very good. All lovely and clean.
It took just a casual 15 minute stroll to reach to town centre and sea front, leaving the car behind was a real bonus - giving us chance to sample a few pubs on the return journey ! There is no specific parking at the cottage, but plenty on the road outside.

Would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage - very deserving of 5 stars and glad we stayed .

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2017
Thank you both so much for taking the time to post such positive and lovely comments, here and in my Visitor's Book. It's great to it helped to make your stay in Sidmouth so enjoyable and hopefully you will feel like returning again in the future.
Do hope your coast path walk went well!
Many thanks and Best Wishes
Liz and ( little pink fish?!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jan 2017
Thankyou so much for taking the time to post lovely review, also the text you sent with such great comments and message in my Visitors Book. It's so rewarding to think that Puffins and Sidmouth enabled you to enjoy what I imagine was a well deserved break!
Wishing you, and all my 2016 Guests a very Happy New Year and look forward to hearing from some of you again this year!
Many thanks, Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing