We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Bed & Breakfast”
Review of Leeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We needed overnight accommodation with breakfast last week when visiting my parents who were staying in Scarborough on holiday. We found The Leeway through tripadvisor and were impressed by the reviews.
We got a sea view room with full English breakfast for £60 online.
When we googled the property with street view it didn't look to great from the outside, but upon arrival at the property we realised this is a very old image - it looked smart and well presented with pretty flowers outside.

Once inside, we were met by the owner who was very friendly and we were immediately impressed with the quality of the décor and the plush carpets.

Our room was on the top floor with several flights of steep stairs - all beautifully carpeted. Inside, it was well equipped with fluffy towels on the bed, a welcome tea/coffee tray, quality toiletries and lovely bedding. We had an excellent power shower, and complimentery bottles of spring water. Alarm clock and hair dryer all provided.

The view out of the window was of the Castle and North Shore - quite stunning.

Breakfast the next morning consisted of a great range of cereals and fruit and yoghurt's, with a menu to select from full English breakfast - including smoked salmon with scrambled eggs and toasted bagel - AT NO EXTRA COST! We had a cafetiere of fresh ground coffee and loads of fresh toast and preserves.

The hotel has a bar open until 10.30pm.

We will definately use The Leeway again for a short break - the owners have only been there for 9 months and have clearly spend alot of time and money into making this a top notch B&B - Excellent!

Room Tip: Try to get a Sea View room - and if you have mobility issues book a room on the first floor to minim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your review, it's always nice to get such positive feed back. we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Alan & Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
242
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Just stayed at the Leeway for 1 night, (this our 2nd visit this year), took some friends with us on this visit. Again the rooms we were allocated were beautiful decorated, with those little extra touches (complimentary toiletries, tea & coffee facilities, bottled water) etc.and views you just can`t explain, you need to see them for yourself to believe it. Breakfast was done to perfection, compliments to the chef (Alan). Hosts Alan & Jude give a very warm welcome, and are always happy to give you and info regards were to eat or drink out, already making plans for our next return, for another enjoyable stay.
P.S Alan keep checking your emails,my email might just turn up now I have the correct address!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowysleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Nice to see you again Sue, thanks for your lovely review and we look forward to seeing you and darren again next year. Just to make sure, the e mail address is info@leewayhotel.co.uk. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Our second visit to the Leeway this year. (we were not disappointed) Well done to Alan & Jude for making us feel as though we were visiting old friends. A warm welcome is assured when you visit the Leeway, you can rest assured that every effort is made by the proprietors (Alan & Jude) to make you feel 'at home'!
The rooms although a little on the small side are meticulously presented and scrupulously clean - with all the necessary amenities to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing one. Rooms with a panoramic sea view are a bonus. The plentiful breakfast is freshly prepared each morning with a good selection on offer, all served in a lovely dining room.
My wife and I were shown 'special hospitality' by the owners on the eve of our departure and enjoyed a most enjoyable afternoon with the owners and their friends in the lounge bar. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Alan & Jude for this.
I wish them every success in their business.
PS. hope the ice tongues are still working !!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOMADS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your kind review, It was nice to see you again and look forward to you visiting again. The ice tongues are doing great, ha ha. Cheers Alan And Jude
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castleford
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just got back from 2 nights at the leeway had a lovely stay.Stayed in room 3 the room was very clean and bright nice sea view lovely fresh towels and dressing gowns, breakfsat was good best hotel we have stayed in in scarbrough and we have stayed in a few.see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyannholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at the Leeway. We arrived into Scarborough early by train and decided to go straight to the hotel. We were given a very warm welcome and were able to leave our bags until our room was ready. When we got back later that day our bags had very kindly been taken up to our top floor room for us. Our room was pleasant and very clean. The room wasn't huge but was nicely decorated, had everything that you need and was very comfortable. The views from our window were lovely. The hotel is well situated for getting down to the beach and the nearby park, which was lovely. It is also within easy reach of nearby restaurants and the shops in town. We both ate the full english breakfast which was lovely, the fresh fruit salad was also delicious. There were lots of other options for breakfast if full english is not your thing.
Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Leeway and would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pie_girl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

What a lovely hotel. The hosts were really friendly and informative. Breakfast was the best, you could even have smoked salmon. This hotel is immaculate and is in a excellent location. You can either park in their car park or on the roadside. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would not stay anywhere else when in Scarborough. I would rate this hotel 5 Star.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at the Leeway, fantastic hospitality, lovely room, fantastic breakfast, we were made to feel very welcome and will definitly stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandC1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeway Hotel

Property: Leeway Hotel
Address: 71 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Leeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing