We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem on the Yorkshire coast!”
Review of Leeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leeway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Despite being in room 9 (four floors up!) this B&B was well worth staying in. Bigger grander hotels exist in Scarborough but they cannot outdo The Leeway in hospitality and sheer quality. The room was clean and modern with a good shower (these Victorian converted terraces sometimes struggle with water pressure).

The breakfast was the make-it-or-break-it thing for me, and it made it. A better breakfast I cannot think of!

Room Tip: No lift available, and it's a long climb up the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazing_badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for your kind and positive review.

Jude & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

by far one of the cleanest b and b i have every stayed in, very friendly as well. the extra,s in the room were a lovely surprise and the breakfast was first class. the fact there were only over 18s in the hotel was great as we had a lovely peacefull evening would use the-is hotal again for sure,

Room Tip: this was a bit of a walk from the beach however the bus goes right past the front of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moragdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Jude & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

After having unpleasant experiences with B & B's in the North Bay @ Scarborough we checked the reviews of fellow travellers on tripadvisor, and based on the overall positive reviews and ignoring the obviously biased negative reviews, decided to give the Leeway a chance. We where not disappointed, we managed to get the last room available No7 @ the top and no sea view. The room was large, very clean, a very comfortable bed. Alan & Judes attention to small details is outstanding and on a par with 5 * hotels we have stayed in throughout the world.
B & B's AND OTHER HOTELS IN SCARBOROUGH COULD DO TO VISIT AND FIND OUT HOW MODERN B & B's CAN BE RUN SUCCESSFULLY AND OFFER EXCELLENT QUALITY SERVICE.
Minor criticisms, rooms only single glazed and can be noisy, Alan explained as a listed building to replace the windows would be an enormous cost, but they are looking to install secondary double glazing to combat the noise levels (ROYAL HOTEL TAKE NOTE). Bathroom could have done with a hook inside the door for robes, clothes etc, and the cracked plastic light lens above the shower should be changed for safety reasons ( sorry Alan forgot to mention when we left).
We will definitely try to book again,(IF WE CAN GET IN ????) and would unreservedly recommend for a comfortable, pleasant & pleasurable stay.
Even at breakfast the attention to detail was to be applauded, proper napkins, choices of individual fruit dishes excellent quality and choice of main breakfast as well.

Room Tip: limited parking, higher rooms with steep stairs, rooms @ the moment can be noisy, but to be sorted s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOTTESFORDJEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your review and your comments, with regards to the Light fitting; this has now been rectified along with your suggestion of the hook. Many thanks for that. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Alan & Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed at the Leeway Hotel for two nights, 19th and 20th August, to celebrate my birthday. The Leeway hotel is first class. Fantastic location and we were lucky enough to be able to book a room with a sea view (room 3). The room was absolutely spotless, with nice little touches, chocolate, biscuits, bottled water, tissues etc. The linen was lovely and fresh and of good quality. The breakfast served at the Leeway was very good. All cooked fresh to order and with a good choice. There is a very welcoming bar should you wish to have a night cap, which we did. The hosts are very nice and nothing appears too much trouble for them, they even supplied us with an extra parking permit (free of charge) so we could stay until later in the day on the day of our departure. All the other hotels we have stayed in in Scarborough charge you for these.

We always come to Scarborough at this time of year and have stayed in various hotels over the years but the Leeway is one of the top ones we have stayed in and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at the Leeway Hotel for one night. It is in a lovely location overlooking the sea. The room was beautiful and modern. The additional room extras such as shower gel and bottled water were very nice and well appreciated. Breakfast was perfect and the owners were friendly and helpful in answering a question we had regarding parking in Scarborough. Our stay at the Leeway Hotel was brilliant. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for posting your review and your positive comments ( Room 9 ), we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to you visiting us at The Leeway again soon.

Alan & Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We had a very pleasant week at The Leeway from 13th to 20th August. Alan and Jude were perfect hosts and could not have done more to make our stay memorable. Our room was spotless and well-appointed, the breakfasts excellent and we particularly enjoyed our evening chats in the bar over a couple of drinks.

The hotel is ideally situated overlooking the sea and only a short walk from the beach, town centre and amenities. We would not hesitate in recommending The Leeway to anyone intending to visit Scarborough and indeed have already done so.

Thanks again and look forward to the next time.

Jamie & Joyce

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for you kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ( Room 1 ) and that it was so memorable. Thank you also for the recomendations and we look forward to seeing you and Joyce again next year.

Jud & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Situated on the cliff top drive The Leeway is as good a traditional bed and breakfast hotel as we have ever stayed in. Easy parking onsite, or on the drive with supplied permit, 10 minute walk from a bustling town centre and the buzzing seafront harbour. The room was spotlessly clean, comfy bed with quality pillows, and the very rarely seen these days bedside clock. The provision of 2 chairs to sit on was most welcome. Nice powerful shower with individual heating( no loss of hot water if other rooms are showering) and the cooked to order breakfast in the delightful breakfast room was superb. The hosts were warm and welcoming and we cannot recommend The Leeway highly enough

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank what_horizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2012

Thank you for such a glowing review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jude & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,930 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
973 reviews
0.3 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#7 of 183 in Scarborough
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeway Hotel

Address: 71 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £55 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Leeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing