We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Leeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leeway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The room was very clean and tidy even though it has not been refurbished yet (Rome wasn't built in a day and there are only 7 days a week).
Both Jude and Alan go out of their way to be friendly and make sure that guests have all they need and that they feel comfortable.
Would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Book in good time if you want to experience the fantastic view, rooms must go quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 409DavidP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you David for your review, We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.The final room refurbs have now begun and Rome will be completed well before Christmas.

Jude & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

A lovely b and b .Very clean and rooms modern and comfortable. Hosts very helpful.A lovely view across the bay.Breakfast was beautiful ,fresh fruit salad was delicious,as was the cooked breakfast.Was really sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Book early to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for you review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jude & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

Very happy with our recent stay at the Leeway. The room was clean and comfortable, the owners were very helpful and friendly. The views over the bay are stunning. The breakfast was excellent. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreedyMunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you so much for posting your review, nice to hear feed back.
See you soon.
Jude & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Despite being in room 9 (four floors up!) this B&B was well worth staying in. Bigger grander hotels exist in Scarborough but they cannot outdo The Leeway in hospitality and sheer quality. The room was clean and modern with a good shower (these Victorian converted terraces sometimes struggle with water pressure).

The breakfast was the make-it-or-break-it thing for me, and it made it. A better breakfast I cannot think of!

Room Tip: No lift available, and it's a long climb up the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazing_badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for your kind and positive review.

Jude & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

by far one of the cleanest b and b i have every stayed in, very friendly as well. the extra,s in the room were a lovely surprise and the breakfast was first class. the fact there were only over 18s in the hotel was great as we had a lovely peacefull evening would use the-is hotal again for sure,

Room Tip: this was a bit of a walk from the beach however the bus goes right past the front of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moragdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Jude & Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

After having unpleasant experiences with B & B's in the North Bay @ Scarborough we checked the reviews of fellow travellers on tripadvisor, and based on the overall positive reviews and ignoring the obviously biased negative reviews, decided to give the Leeway a chance. We where not disappointed, we managed to get the last room available No7 @ the top and no sea view. The room was large, very clean, a very comfortable bed. Alan & Judes attention to small details is outstanding and on a par with 5 * hotels we have stayed in throughout the world.
B & B's AND OTHER HOTELS IN SCARBOROUGH COULD DO TO VISIT AND FIND OUT HOW MODERN B & B's CAN BE RUN SUCCESSFULLY AND OFFER EXCELLENT QUALITY SERVICE.
Minor criticisms, rooms only single glazed and can be noisy, Alan explained as a listed building to replace the windows would be an enormous cost, but they are looking to install secondary double glazing to combat the noise levels (ROYAL HOTEL TAKE NOTE). Bathroom could have done with a hook inside the door for robes, clothes etc, and the cracked plastic light lens above the shower should be changed for safety reasons ( sorry Alan forgot to mention when we left).
We will definitely try to book again,(IF WE CAN GET IN ????) and would unreservedly recommend for a comfortable, pleasant & pleasurable stay.
Even at breakfast the attention to detail was to be applauded, proper napkins, choices of individual fruit dishes excellent quality and choice of main breakfast as well.

Room Tip: limited parking, higher rooms with steep stairs, rooms @ the moment can be noisy, but to be sorted s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOTTESFORDJEFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeway1, Owner at Leeway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Thank you for your review and your comments, with regards to the Light fitting; this has now been rectified along with your suggestion of the hook. Many thanks for that. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Alan & Jude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed at the Leeway Hotel for two nights, 19th and 20th August, to celebrate my birthday. The Leeway hotel is first class. Fantastic location and we were lucky enough to be able to book a room with a sea view (room 3). The room was absolutely spotless, with nice little touches, chocolate, biscuits, bottled water, tissues etc. The linen was lovely and fresh and of good quality. The breakfast served at the Leeway was very good. All cooked fresh to order and with a good choice. There is a very welcoming bar should you wish to have a night cap, which we did. The hosts are very nice and nothing appears too much trouble for them, they even supplied us with an extra parking permit (free of charge) so we could stay until later in the day on the day of our departure. All the other hotels we have stayed in in Scarborough charge you for these.

We always come to Scarborough at this time of year and have stayed in various hotels over the years but the Leeway is one of the top ones we have stayed in and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
796 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeway Hotel

Address: 71 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £54 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Leeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing