We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can see why people have reviewed this hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Leeway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I can see why people have reviewed this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stay here in September 2013. The Hotel was clean, the rooms comfortable and warn with a good selection of pillows. The breakfast was very good, the owners are friendly and nothing appeared to much trouble. The hotel is situated on the front with great views over the north bay and only a ten minutes walk to the centre. we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one over looking the sea or top room at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
239
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

spotless.lovely location.and a lovely welcome .the views from our rooms were superb.the breakfast was lovely .we enjoyed ourselves that much we wanted to extend our stay sadly, the leeway were fully booked .but i wasnt surprised.we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: go for a sea veiw room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunkissedjan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We have recently returned from a weekend stay at the Leeway. From parking the car in front of the hotel to checking in, the whole process was easy and relaxed. We were lucky enough to have a sea view room, from which the views were breathtaking! Our room was cosy and spotlessly clean with gorgeous egyptian cotton bedding. The breakfast choice was fantastic and all served on a modern white dinner service; I particularly recommend the individual fruit salads which were freshly made and tasted amazing. There is no doubt that this will now be our 'go to' place when stopping in Scarborough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I needed somewhere to stay in Scarborough as a base for an event I was going to. When I did my research I was finding hotels and bed & breakfasts coming up at silly prices a there was a big Goldwing event in the town but I was pleased to find The Leeway at a price I could afford.

Having only paid £35 for the night I didn't have my sights very high but I was very pleasantly surprised.

The single room I had was on the first floor (room number 2) and is ideal for a lone traveler with a wider than average bed and a lovely view across the sea and towards Castle Hill. There were more than adequate facilities with tea and coffee in abundance (could probably have done with a bit more milk but that is being extremely picky), a hair dryer and then a travel sewing kit and shower gel/shampoo in the bathroom.

There was a TV with a variety of channels both TV and radio, a small wardrobe, chest of drawers and a chair that I enjoyed sitting in and watching/listening to the waves down at the beach.

Talking of the beach it took me all of 2 minutes to walk down Chain Hill with its "gym" and a bus stop for the Shoreline Suncruiser open top that does the round trip to the Spa and back along the seafront - £4 for an all day ticket.

Anyway - back to the B&B - the owners are very friendly and approachable and went out of their way to make sure I could get a lovely breakfast earlier than their standard serving times of 8am as I had to get away early. The breakfast options were a variety of cooked breakfasts, fruit salad (fresh fruit not tinned and beautifully presented), cereals and croissants.

Most importantly though, despite the excellent room price, the owners didn't skimp with cheap accessories. There was a proper ceramic teapot (not one of those vile stainless steel ones that leak everywhere), lovely slate table mats and napkin rings that were solid and pretty. Too often a cheap accommodation is reflected in its accessories and this was not the case here. It was also very clean. Even the ornate coving in the bedroom was free from the inevitable cobweb that you nearly always find.

A previous reviewer had mentioned that they had an issue with controlling the temperature of the shower on high - the one in my room was spot on so it ay just have been in their room.

Parking along this road is potentially an issue as there are a lot of B&Bs along there but there is space for 4 cars on the drive and the owners will provide you with a disc should you not be able to get on there. This is so much better than a lot of the places along there who charge or a day parking pass (one was £20 per day!!) or for a disc (my friends were charged £6 for theirs!).

If I was in Scarborough without my family again I would certainly visit The Leeway first to see if they have a vacancy. It's just a shame (from my normal travel requirements) that they don't allow children but I can understand why.

There is also a bar but as I was at an event I didn't use that faciity bt the residents who did use it seemed happy enough :D
Oh - and finally - how nice was it to sleep on a bed that was firm, didn't squeak or feel like it was flimsy and was comfortable! :D

Room Tip: Sea views are nicer than the street view I reckon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just spent a weekend at the hotel/guesthouse ( 7/8th September 2013) ABSOLUTELY superb ! Lovely comfortable and clean room, a lovely couple who have just recently taken the place on and they couldn't have done more for us. The breakfast was lovely and all round it left you with a lovely, homely feeling from the place. Adequate parking outside, based on the North Marina side of the town but an easy walk in to find other amenities.....just the weekend break we were looking for,,,,We'll be back !

Room Tip: They are all good !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hxexectravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights midweek and had a lovely time.

Our room was on the top floor which kept us fit and the room was small but had everything that was needed. The only downside to the room was the shower, if you had it on high you couldn't control the temperature!

The breakfast was faultless with a very wide range from fruit salad, full english to salmon and bagel.

I would certainly recommend The Leeway to friends and family and will certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The stay couldn't have been made any better , well a truly exceeded my expectations .
Accommodating, clean, tidy and fresh the b&b is a great place to stay.

The room is calm and pretty , big enough, and with a lovely bathroom. The room is modern, furnishings all good quality , everything in the room you need!

The dining area is quite small, but tables are all modern and set out lovely, white table cloths, napkins, white crockery etc. You can help yourself to fresh fruit, cereal , juices etc and order your cooked breakfast . From full english to poached eggs on toast , lots of choice, and don't be afraid to ask for extra toast!

Checking in and out was very quick and simple, although the reception area is just literally as you walk in , but staff are waiting for guest arrival and service is friendly and prompt!

There is a little bar, it's a little dated , but looks cosy and comfy. We didn't drink there, but it was quiet and i'm sure pleasant to sit for a couple before bed.

Overall , I would reccommed this hotel for couples old and young, the north bay is lovely and quiet, very scenic and not far from the south bay (main part).

I would happily return to the Leeway , it had a lasting impression and exceeded my expectations of a seaside break!

Room Tip: We stayed in Number 9, top of the house, great sea view. The room was very quiet and dark at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.2 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeway Hotel

Property: Leeway Hotel
Address: 71 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Leeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing