We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A credit to the owners”
Review of Leeway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leeway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had one night at the Leeway during a brief 3 night tour around the Yorkshire area. We had Room 1 (not sea facing) as this was the last available at the time, however it was a really nice room with a pleasant en-suite with a good shower. The decor is very fresh and our room was certainly kept spotless - a credit to the owners. Breakfast was served in a pleasant room, and the tables/chairs/cloths/cutlery/crockery etc... were all of a very high standard. As was the full english breakfast - a great start to the day and the short walk to the centre, or south bay if you prefer spending time their to the north bay on which the hotel sits.
We do not set out to pick fault, but even if we did it would be really hard to find anything that was less than excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Leeway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Where do I start, a fantastic view over the North Bay. The hotel was immaculate with the hosts, Alan and Judith, so very welcoming. I traveled alone and was in a single room but plenty big enough, not cramped. Waking in morning to sea views, what else can you ask for. The room had everything you could ask for putting some more expensive hotels to shame, plenty supply of tea and coffee and even a chocolate drink, biscuits and a bottle of water. Lots of extras such as shower gels, tissues and even a sewing kit. The breakfast was 1st class with plenty of choice on the full English ( highly recommended ) plus all you would expect such as fruit juice, fruit and cereal. This was my first visit to scarborough and thanks to 2 wonderful people I will be back and obviously staying at same place. To end, they also know the best places to eat in the evening.
ps. I forgot to mention free parking included.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a great b and b very good for the price we paid.It was spotless nice added touches hand mirror tissues shower gels etc in the bathroom.I must say this was the best breakfast I have ever
had in a b and b.Also we got free parking.

Room Tip: all nice I would think
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank toni1967_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Excellent position overlooking the North Bay, warm, comfortable, clean. Great choice of quality breakfast, too. Seem to cater for most tastes. Nice little touches in the room, like bottled water, better than usual choice of tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits, mending kit. All thoughtful extras which many more expensive hotels could learn from. Comfortable beds too!
Our hosts seem to really enjoy what they do and strive to keep their guests happy. Nothing was too much trouble, and refills were constantly on offer at breakfast
Minor quibbles, like no hanging space in the bathroom, could be easily sorted.
On the whole one of the best places I've stayed at in the UK. Scarborough has a gem!

Room Tip: No lift, but worth the hike to the top floor for the best views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeeTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

A warm friendly welcome along withlovely rooms with comfy beds make this the ideal place to stay. Great cooked breakfast and choice of many other items all freshly prepared. Lovely location overloking Norrh Bay

My third stay and will definitely not be my last.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Jaycee1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

A cracking little hotel
Very clean, spacious rooms.
Friendly helpful staff
Great little bar. Reasonable prices.
Classy quality breakfast .
Great choice of food
Best hotel I've been to in Scarborough
Off road parking also saves you money as well.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jason3557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Decided to visit Scarborough after an absence of a few years. We picked the Leeway out due to it's location, coupled with the great reviews it has received. We were not disappointed. We arrived early morning as we planned to walk part of the Cleveland Way and it was no problem to leave our luggage and car (free parking on their driveway) as we went out for the day. When we got back to the Hotel we were pleasantly surprised with the very tastefully decorated room and above all the standard of cleanliness. It was spotless! The little touches in the room (bottled water, generous quantities of tea, coffee and milk) and the great view of the bay and castle from our window made this a perfect weekend. We had a comfortable and uninterrupted sleep, despite the hotel being full. Breakfast...where do I start? I have never seen such an array of food in a small Guest House. There were croissants, 3 fresh juices, numerous cereals/museli (all branded), and dishes of fresh fruit to name a few. Breakfast was cooked freshly to order, very good quality and very hot. The choice was endless, including Full English, boiled, poached and scrambled eggs, salmon, etc.
The hosts are really nice genuine people who are passionate about the service they provide, My wife and I have stayed at 5 star hotels that could learn athing or two from the Leeway. Carry on the good work and will see you again!

Room Tip: Ask for a Sea View Room when booking
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PhiHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,909 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leeway Hotel

Address: 71 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £54 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Leeway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing