We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”
Review of Powys Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Powys Lodge
Ranked #30 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and from the moment we checked in we felt like one of the family we were made to feel very much at home and enjoyed a few drinks in the evening at the very reasonable priced bar . The rooms are very nice and clean as is the whole place it is immaculate we had the breakfast which was lovely I can't speak highly enough of this hotel and would definitely stay here again it is run by a lovely family .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbuckersUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013

My wfe and I stayed one night. The room was very tasefully decorated. The whole place was spotlessly clean. Tina and Shaun were very freindly,we were made to feel very welcome, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of everything to set you up for a day in Scarborough. They provide good quality toiletries, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, bottled water and biscuits. Also free parking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John1808489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Last year I stayed on my own and was really impressed with the very warm reception and how I was made to feel so welcome and comfortable. The whole place is very nicely decorated and immaculately clean. They provide a wide range of high quality toiletries and excellent tea/coffee tray, including hot chocolate, bottled water and biscuits, which are topped up every day. A superb breakfast is provided and nothing is too much trouble. This year I returned with my husband and Powys Lodge once again lived up to my expectations and in addition this time it was like visiting old friends and we had the most wonderful time. I would highly recommend this B&B and next year when we return to Scarborough we will certainly be returning to the warm and hospitable welcome of Powys Lodge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

we stayed here when we went to watch the orange parade in scarborough,the owner was welcoming and friendly and let us in even though we arrived early.our room a double was clean and nicely decorated.nice touches like bottled water aswell as tea and coffee facilities,ensuite was good and had good selection of nice toiletries.my mother inlaw and 2 sisters inlaw had a family room which was a double with another room off which had a full size bunk bed.their room was also ensuite.breakfast in the morning was full english along with toast jams and cereal,realy good place to stay would recomend

Room Tip: family room two rooms great for familie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Just got back from stay at Powys Lodge. Excellent - Tina was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The room was comfortable and lots of nice touches - toiletries, bottled water, hot chocolate etc. Breakfast great - more than I could eat and cater well for vegetarians too. Would thoroughly recommend this B&B - great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollieNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Very nice bedroom, immaculately clean, comfortable beds, wide range of toiletries and excellent tea/coffee tray (including hot chocolate and bottled water). Superb breakfast. Well looked after by Tina - very helpful and informative. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 487JayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights we had a superb stay we had a family room which was fantastic, as kids stayed in a seperate room.The hotel was really clean Tina does a fantastic job and the breakfast was lovely lots of choice Tina and Shaun were lovely people really made us feel very welcome. we really enjoyed our stay and would definetley go back and i would defintley recommened this hotel to people

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyandchris2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
Esplanade Gardens Hotel
#85 of 183 in Scarborough
106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
305 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dolphin Guesthouse
Dolphin Guesthouse
#32 of 183 in Scarborough
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Harmony Country Lodge
Harmony Country Lodge
#21 of 183 in Scarborough
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
970 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 183 in Scarborough
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powys Lodge

Address: 2 Westbourne Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £48 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Powys Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powys Lodge is a small privately owned Guest House located in the quiet area of South Cliff. 2015/16 has seen an extensive refurbishment across all rooms resulting in a 4 star status with Visit England. We are located within easy walking reach of the town and sea front amenities. All our rooms are en-suite (showers only)and equipped with a generous hospitality tray, hair dryer, towels and flat screen television. We guarantee the up most in cleanliness and our home cooked breakfast contains many locally sourced ingredients. We cater for many individual needs and welcome families, couples and single travelers. Unfortunately we do not admit dogs or single sex groups. Whilst on site parking is limited we do issue (free of charge) street parking permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Powys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing