We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must stay here!!”
Review of Powys Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Powys Lodge
Ranked #34 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You must stay here!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Travelling alone with 2 young children is quite daunting, so to be met and welcomed by Tina smiling at the door was fantastic and very reassuring. The whole place is great, rooms are comfortable and modern and absolutely spotless. Breakfast was cooked superbly and Tina buzzes about making sure you are happy and have everything you need. I honestly cannot praise Powys Guest House high enough and will definitely back! Thanks again Tina x

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelle-3174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
53
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in the week leading up to Easter whilst working in area, our company usually books us premier inn or travelodge but booked us here for 4 nights . Very friendly welcome and great communication on our needs for breakfast and our room . The rooms are very modern decor for a B&B , freeview TV that worked very well , a fair sized wardrobe , coffee , tea, hot chocolate , biscuits all of good quality brands ,very clean bathroom and good shower . Breakfast was very nice each morning and generous . Most of all the friendly hospitality of landlady was great .

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank EdinburghBoab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for one night on a whim during a Northern road trip and were delighted by this charming little place. Breakfast was good and the room was well done, but best of all the staff were just as friendly as you like and went out of their way to make us feel at home. And the downstairs bar is the cherry on the cake. Well located too, with all fun of the fair less than a mile away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neurotictraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had an overnight stay here on a Friday night. Met by the owner and greeted with a warm welcome. The B&B is spotless from top to bottom. Lounge area, bar and dining room. Rooms on 3 floors. I had a sinkle room, with ensuite shower room. Rooms are well decorated, warm and comfortable, plenty of storage, TV and hot drink making acilities. I had an early breakfast (07:30) as I had to leave at 08:00 and this was no problem for the owner. The B&B is close to town and a 20 min walk to the sea front. Will definatly stay here again when back in Scarborough.

Note: there is one bad review on this site from 2008. The present owners have only been here for 3 years, so thst review is not applicable ton them !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We were lucky to get one of the parking spots in front of Powys Lodge which took some maneuvering into. Tina met us at the door and was so enthusiastic and happy explaining everything and giving us directions to the sights. Our twin room while small had everything we needed, was spotless and in good repair. The bathroom was tiny but functional. The hospitality tray even included hot chocolate. Breakfast was served with the same cheerfulness as our welcome. The cereals were boxed but a good variety. The cooked meal was hot and included very crispy fried bread.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lird5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Just enjoyed another lovely stay. Once again everything was excellent. Tina is so helpful and she recommended a super restaurant which was just a short walk away. The freshly cooked and piping hot breakfast set us up for the rest of the day. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 487JayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed at the Powys Lodge bed and breakfast on the 23rd August for one night with my youngest daughter, I cannot praise Tina and Shaun enough for their welcome and helpfulness, I thought i had lost my purse when we had arrived and was in a real panic, but Tina and Shaun offered to lend me the money i needed for the stay without question. I did find my purse though so big relief, but its not often that you can say people are so helpful and generous considering they had only just met me. The Powys Lodge is beatifully decorated and spotlessly clean, breakfast was cooked to perfection and we realy enjoyed our stay and would not hesitae in booking again.......... try it you wont be disapointed. Sahra & Niamh

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sazzle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#39 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#12 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#48 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#47 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough
#8 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Powys Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powys Lodge

Property: Powys Lodge
Address: 2 Westbourne Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Powys Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Powys Lodge is a small privately owned Guest House located in the quiet area of South Cliff. 2015/16 has seen an extensive refurbishment across all rooms resulting in a 4 star status with Visit England. We are located within easy walking reach of the town and sea front amenities. All our rooms are en-suite (showers only)and equipped with a generous hospitality tray, hair dryer, towels and flat screen television. We guarantee the up most in cleanliness and our home cooked breakfast contains many locally sourced ingredients. We cater for many individual needs and welcome families, couples and single travelers. Unfortunately we do not admit dogs or single sex groups. Whilst on site parking is limited we do issue (free of charge) street parking permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Powys Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing